Jones makes history with Phoenix win

New record was achieved tonight in the NASCAR Truck series when Erik Jones took the victory in Phoenix at the age of 17.

Erik Jones made history at Phoenix International Raceway on Friday night, becoming the youngest winner in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series history with his win of the Lucas Oil 150 at the age of 17 years, four months and nine days.

"It's unbelievable," Jones, driver of the No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota, said. "This is all I've ever wanted, right here -- to be a winner in NASCAR."

Jones and Ross Chastain, driver of the No. 19 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford, combined to lead most of the 150 lap-race. After losing the lead to Jones with nine laps to go, Chastain finished second.

"Erik drove a great race," Chastain said. "He drove what he had, and he had a great truck. I don't know how we could've been better."

Chastain started on the pole and led the way until opting to take four tires on a pit stop during the first caution of the race that came out on lap 35. Chastain and the No. 31 Turner Scott Motorsports Chevrolet of James Buescher, that had been running second, took four, while almost everyone else took two tires. After taking two tires, the No. 62 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet of Brendan Gaughan restarted in the lead with Jones alongside in second.

Jones took the lead on the restart and remained up front until he was beaten off pit road by Chastain during a caution on lap 89. Chastain wasn't in the lead for long, though, as Jones retook the position on the restart.

Jones continued to lead until Chastain got back up front on a restart with 31 laps remaining. Chastain was able to hold Jones off on two restarts that followed, but a lap after the final restart of the race, Jones took the lead for good and never looked back.

"We just got a really good run on him off of (turn) two and was able to make the pass," Jones said.

Gaughan finished third, the No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet of Ty Dillon was fourth, and the No. 88 ThorSport Racing Toyota of Matt Crafton rounded out the top-five. With his fifth-place finish, Crafton all but clinched the 2013 championship. All he'll have to do is start next weekend's season-finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway to take his first title.

But the top-five run wasn't without some drama for Crafton and his team. After the race, Crafton said that he suffered brake issue throughout the event that his team offered to fix during the race. The driver declined.

"I didn't want to lose track position," Crafton said of his decision. "Track position was everything."

Finishing sixth through 10th were the No. 33 Eddie Sharp Racing Chevrolet of Cale Gale, the No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ford of Ryan Blaney, the No. 98 ThorSport Racing Toyota of Johnny Sauter, Buescher and the No. 94 Bill Elliott Racing Chevrolet of Chase Elliott.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Bill Elliott , Matt Crafton , Johnny Sauter , Brendan Gaughan , Scott Turner , Brad Keselowski , Cale Gale , James Buescher , Kyle Busch , Ty Dillon , Ross Chastain , Ryan Blaney , Chase Elliott , Erik Jones
Teams Richard Childress Racing , Kyle Busch Motorsports
Article type Race report
Tags bkr, brad keselowski, cautions, chastain, chevrolet, crashes, ford, gaughan, jones, kvm, kyle busch, nascar camping world, phoenix, pir, rcr, toyota, younget winner