Indy ORP: News of note, schedule

* Five From First Race Point Contenders In 2007 NCTS Etc. Three of the current top five in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series championship standings have victories at ORP. Travis Kvapil's best is a second while Todd Bodine (No. 30 Lumber ...

* Five From First Race Point Contenders In 2007


Three of the current top five in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series championship standings have victories at ORP. Travis Kvapil's best is a second while Todd Bodine (No. 30 Lumber Liquidators Toyota) has only been able to muster a seventh.

The Power Stroke Diesel 200 winner has gone on to claim the season championship just twice: Mike Skinner in 1995 and Jack Sprague in 2001. The oldest winner of the Power Stroke Diesel 200 is Joe Rutttman at age 55 years eight months in 2000. Carl Edwards is the youngest at 23 years 10 months in 2003.

The Sauter family -- Jay, Johnny and current Raybestos Rookie of the Year leader Tim -- has entered the most siblings in series races at O'Reilly Raceway Park. Johnny Sauter has the best finish among "brother/sister" acts at ORP. He finished second in 2004. Eight sets of siblings have competed at the track.

David Green (No. 1 RFMS/Red Horse Racing Toyota) has competed in 12 NASCAR Busch Series races at ORP with a best finish of second in 1993. Green has been consistent, finishing on the lead lap in nine of the 10 races in which he was running at the finish.

Competitors at ORP have racked up a combined 50,469.02 miles in 12 seasons of racing at O'Reilly Raceway Park.

Last year's race produced the most lead lap finishers (22) and matched the track's greatest number of trucks running at the finish (32).

Skinner's Lead Large, But Not Largest

Mike Skinner added significantly to his championship lead when he won at Kentucky Speedway on July 14. His 164-point cushion over Ron Hornaday Jr. is the largest of the season. That lead is comfortable but hardly the largest -- or even the largest a year ago.

Manufacturer Leader Toyota Hasn't Won At ORP

Toyota has failed to win on five currently scheduled tracks. One of them is O'Reilly Raceway Park where the Tundra counts only two top-five finishes in three seasons.

Last year's Power Stroke Diesel 200 found David Starr (No. 10 International/MAXXForce Diesel Ford) finishing fourth.

Chevrolet is the top manufacturer at ORP with six wins but only one in the past five races.

Still Tickin' 12 Years Later

Seven drivers who competed in the first Power Stroke Diesel 200 (then 150 laps) have entered this week's race. Five are ranked among the top 10 in current point standings.

In The Loop: Setzer Loves Indy; No Love Lost Lately For Skinner

You've heard of the Tale of Two Cities? Well, in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series, Indianapolis is the City of Two Tales.

The first involves Dennis Setzer. Setzer loves the annual trip to Indy and O'Reilly Raceway Park. He won there in 2005, finished second last year and has never finished outside the top 15. In 10 career starts at the .686-mile track, Setzer has finished outside the top 10 only twice -- his worst finish there was 13th in 2002.

Since 2005, he's been by far the most consistent driver at ORP. He has the top pre-race average Driver Rating at 137.0, the best Average Running Position of 2.5, the most Fastest Laps Run at 77 and has run all but one of the 400 Laps in the Top 15.

More impressively, in his 2005 victory, Setzer earned the maximum Driver Rating of 150.0 -- only two other truck drivers have accomplished the feat (Mike Skinner has done it four times and Ron Hornaday Jr. once).

Then there's the tale of the usually dominant Skinner. In recent years, his ORP performances have been uncharacteristically poor. Since back-to-back wins there in 1995 and 1996, Skinner's best finish was 13th in 2004. In the five ORP races since the two victories, Skinner has an average finish of 20.8.

Over the last two years -- which were finishes of 19th and 18th -- he has a Driver Rating of 81.6 (21st-best), an Average Running Position of 14.5 (20th-best) and has run just 66% of his Laps in the Top 15 (264 total). Skinner's Driver Rating at ORP is his worst of any track on the circuit.

Raybestos Rookie of the Year Standings

Short tracks traditionally have been the property of veteran drivers, but Carl Edwards introduced himself as a future NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series star when he captured the 2003 Power Stroke Diesel 200 on his way to Raybestos Rookie of the Year honors. Last season's highest-finishing freshman was Erik Darnell, who placed 10th.

This week's race will be the 14th for three drivers -- Tim Sauter, Willie Allen and Blake Bjorklund -- who will discard "worst finishes" for the remainder of the season beginning at Nashville.

Up Next: Nashville Superspeedway

The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series spends the month of August in Tennessee, first at Nashville Superspeedway and 11 days later at the resurfaced Bristol Motor Speedway.

Tennessee is the only state to host three NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series events this season and has done so for the past four years since Bristol rejoined the schedule to accompany Nashville and Memphis Motorsports Park.

Johnny Benson is the defending winner of the Toyota Tundra 200, giving the truck maker consecutive victories in the two seasons it has sponsored the season's 15th of 25 races. David Reutimann and owner Darrell Waltrip won the coveted Gibson guitar trophy in 2004.

Music City has been on the NASCAR Craftsman Truck schedule for 12 years. Teams raced at the Tennessee State Fairgrounds from 1996-2000 before moving east to Gladeville's 1.333-mile layout.


Next Race: Power Stroke Diesel 200 presented by Ford and International

The Place: O'Reilly Raceway Park at Indianapolis
The Date: July 27

The Time: 98 p.m. (ET)
TV: SPEED, 7:30 p.m. (ET)

Track Layout: .686 mile oval

Race Purse: $539,930

2006 Winner: Rick Crawford
2006 Pole: David Ragan

Schedule: Friday -- Practice 10 a.m. -- 11 a.m.; 11:30 a.m. -- 12 noon (rookies) and 12 noon - 1 p.m. Qualifying 4:30 p.m.

-credit: nascar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Darrell Waltrip , Todd Bodine , Mike Skinner , David Starr , Johnny Benson , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Rick Crawford , David Green , Tim Sauter , Johnny Sauter , David Reutimann , Carl Edwards , David Ragan , Blake Bjorklund , Travis Kvapil
Teams Red Horse Racing