Homestead: News of note, schedule

13 different winners one shy of single-season record NEWS & NOTES New series record for wins a possibility ... When Kasey Kahne (No. 2 Team ASE/Carquest Dodge) captured the Nov. 13 Darlington 200, the list of 2004 winners reached 13. The...

13 different winners one shy of single-season record


New series record for wins a possibility ... When Kasey Kahne (No. 2 Team ASE/Carquest Dodge) captured the Nov. 13 Darlington 200, the list of 2004 winners reached 13. The single season record is 14, in 1998. Kahne is the sixth driver to post his first series victory in Jimmy Smith's Ultra Motorsports No. 2 truck.

Dodge Ram is No. 1 in 2004 ... Dodge is the series manufacturer champion for the second-consecutive season and third time in four years. It's the seventh time the title has been clinched with a victory and the latest -- one race to go -- that the championship has been decided. Dodge has won 45 of the last 95 races, a .470 winning percentage.

Awards still unclaimed entering finale ... A number of special awards remain up for grabs entering the Ford 200: POWERade Pit Championship (current leader No. 99 Roush Racing), Featherlite Most Improved Driver (Musgrave/Shane Hmiel), International Crew Chief (Danny Gill, No. 46 Morgan-Dollar Motorsports) and Waste Management Picking Up Places (Shane Sieg).

Quick turnaround for championship celebration ... The 2004 champion's banquet will be held 24 hours after the checkered flag falls on the Ford 200. This year's celebration will be held at the Loews Miami Beach Hotel. Highlights will be broadcast by SPEED Channel at 8 p.m. Nov. 28 and re-aired at 9 p.m. on Dec. 26.

Etc. ... Deborah Renshaw (No. 29 Dealers Motion Services Ford) became the first female driver to lead a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race when the Bowling Green, Ky. resident led lap 36 of the Darlington 200. The race was the 71st in which a female competitor has participated. ... Raybestos Rookie of the Year contenders have one more chance to extend a four-season streak in which a freshman driver has won a race. David Reutimann (No. 17 NTN Bearings Toyota), who carries a 55-point lead into the season finale, has the best finish to date -- third at Atlanta Motor Speedway and June's Texas Motor Speedway event. ... Add Greg Biffle (No. 44 Newspapers in Education Ford) to the list of former series champions to compete in the Ford 200. Biffle's last start -- at Phoenix International Raceway in 2001 -- was win No. 16. ... Indy Racing League veteran Shigeaki Hattori (No. 01 Aisin Toyota) attempts to become the second native of Japan to compete in a series race. Kenji Momota participated in the fall event at Phoenix in 1995. ... Milestones: The Ford 200 will mark Terry Cook's (No. 10 International Trucks and Engines Ford) 190th series start. Andy Houston (No. 20 Chevrolet), the 2000 Homestead winner, will make his 120th appearance. ... The Ford 200 has gone into "overtime" just once, in 1999 when five extra laps were required for Mike Wallace to seal the victory over Mike Stefanik. ... Four of Homestead's eight races have been decided by .461 of a second or less. Last year's winning margin was .186 of a second. ... The Bud Pole starter has won just once at Homestead-Miami Speedway -- Hamilton in 2003. Craftsman's win from the pole bonus hits $32,000 in the season finale.


Crawford's top-10 streak on line ... Rick Crawford (No. 14 Circle Bar Motel & RV Park Ford) has posted six consecutive top-10 finishes at Homestead-Miami Speedway. The Mobile, Ala., veteran is the leading money winner as well with $146,101 in seven trips to the 1.5-mile speedway.

Sprague not a winner here but ... Jack Sprague (No. 16 Chevy Trucks Chevrolet), the three-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion, has finished on the lead lap in six of the seven Homestead races in which he's participated. Sprague counts two second-place and two third-place finishes among six top-five performances. The Spring Lake, Mich., native was fifth in 2003.


"You want to put the year behind you, but you don't want to forget about it because that's how you learn." -- David Reutimann, who will accomplish his goal of winning Raybestos Rookie of the Year honors but is likely to fall short of a top-10 championship finish.


Homestead-Miami Speedway has crowned five first-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series winners, most of any track on the schedule. That's one more than Richmond International Raceway and Texas Motor Speedway. First-time winners in South Florida are Dave Rezendes (1996), Kenny Irwin (1997), Rick Crawford (1998), Mike Wallace (2000) and Ted Musgrave (2001)

Fast Facts

What: Ford 200 (Race No. 25 of 25).

Where:  Homestead-Miami Speedway. (Homestead, Fla.)

When: 3:30 p.m. ET, Friday, Nov.19.

Track layout: 1.5--mile paved speedway.
Race length: 201 miles/134 laps.

Posted awards: $592,374.

TV: SPEED Channel, 3:30 p.m. ET.
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2003 winner: Bobby Hamilton.
2003 polesitter: Bobby Hamilton

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Thursday -- Practice 8:30 a.m. -- 10:45 Qualifying 1:00 p.m. Final practice 4:15 p.m. time permitting.

Top 10 in Points: 1. Bobby Hamilton 3,509. 2. Dennis Setzer 3,439. 3. Ted Musgrave 3,379. 4. Carl Edwards 3,361. 5. Matt Crafton 3,219. 6. David Starr 3,133. 7. Travis Kvapil 3,046. 8. Steve Park 3,044. 9. Jack Sprague 3,021. 10. Chad Chaffin 3,004.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Bobby Hamilton , Steve Park , David Starr , Greg Biffle , Mike Wallace , Andy Houston , Shigeaki Hattori , Ted Musgrave , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Terry Cook , Rick Crawford , Matt Crafton , Shane Hmiel , Kasey Kahne , Chad Chaffin , David Reutimann , Carl Edwards , Deborah Renshaw , Travis Kvapil