Hamlin places his Toyota Tundra on the pole at Martinsville

"This has been the greatest Friday I've had in a really long time"

Denny Hamlin, making his first NASCAR Camping World Truck Series start for Kyle Busch Motorsports (KBM) this season, captured the pole for the Kroger 200 at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway with a lap of 19.625 seconds at 96.489 mph. It was the first career pole award in the Truck Series for Hamlin, the two-time defending race winner, and came with the Jordan Brand aboard his No. 51 Tundra in the iconic company's first-ever primary sponsorship of a car or truck in NASCAR.

Denny Hamlin, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota
Denny Hamlin, Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

Even as happy as I was with the Cup pole, honestly would have been pretty disappointed in our day if we didn't get the Truck pole as well," said Hamlin, who earned his fifth NASCAR Sprint Cup Series pole of the season earlier in the day. "Obviously, we have pretty lofty expectations. This has been the greatest Friday I've had in a really long time. We're racing for three in a row here in the Camping World Truck Series. I only get one shot at this a year and we made the best of it the last few years with Kyle's (Busch) truck. Kyle is battling for an owner's championship as well with the 88 of (Matt) Crafton. He said he called in his best bullet to come run his truck for him. Hopefully we get a win for him and gain some spots."

The No. 51 team, which earned its first pole of the season to go along with four victories, enters tomorrow's race 27 points behind the series-leading No. 88 team with four events remaining in the battle for the 2013 Truck Series owner's championship.

Johnny Sauter (19.627 seconds at 96.479 mph) will start second followed by Hamlin's KBM teammate Darrell Wallace Jr. (19.644 seconds at 96.396 mph) in the third spot. Ron Hornaday Jr. (19.669 seconds at 96.273 mph) will start fourth and Ty Dillon (19.686 seconds at 96.190 mph) will roll off fifth. KBM's third entry with Joey Coulter behind the wheel posted the 22nd-fastest time (19.941 seconds at 94.960 mph)

Tomorrow's 200-lap event will be broadcast live on FOX Sports 1 at 1:30 p.m. ET, with coverage beginning with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series setup show at 1 p.m. ET.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Ron Hornaday Jr. , Johnny Sauter , Denny Hamlin , Joey Coulter , Kyle Busch , Ty Dillon , Darrell Wallace Jr.
Teams Joe Gibbs Racing , Kyle Busch Motorsports
Article type Qualifying report
Tags hamlin, kbm, ncwts, toyota