GM Racing final points notes

Team Silverado Capture Four of Top-Seven Points Positions at 2004 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Season Ending Celebration in Miami MIAMI BEACH, FLA --Dennis Setzer, Jack Sprague, David Starr and Matt Crafton celebrated the success of the...

Team Silverado Capture Four of Top-Seven Points Positions at 2004 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Season Ending Celebration in Miami

MIAMI BEACH, FLA --Dennis Setzer, Jack Sprague, David Starr and Matt Crafton celebrated the success of the debut season of Team Silverado at the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series season-ending awards banquet at Loews Hotel, Miami Beach, FL. The GM Racing "factory" Silverado drivers captured four of the top-seven positions in the final series standings.

With a total of five wins, 30 top-five finishes, 62 top-ten finishes and seven poles in 25 starts, the four drivers delivered a tight driver and manufacturer points race that wasn't settled until the Friday, November 19 final race at Homestead Miami Speedway.

Setzer wheeled the No. 46 Chevrolet Silverado fielded by Morgan Dollar Motorsports to second in the final standings for the second consecutive year. Setzer's two wins, eight top-five and 16 top-tens demonstrated the strength and consistency necessary to be a championship contender throughout the entire season.

"I couldn't be more proud of this entire Chevrolet Silverado team," said Setzer. "We came out of the box strong at Daytona and kept diggin' all season. To get both of our wins at mile and one-half tracks in Charlotte and Texas was definitely one of our greatest accomplishments we wanted to win the championship for Chevrolet Silverado and although we came up just 46 points short, it was a great season for us. It is no fluke we have been able to finish second in the points two years in a row and it just makes us more determined to be at that head table at the end of the 2005 season for everyone at GM Racing and Morgan Dollar Motorsports."

Chevrolet Silverado crew chief Danny Gill won the inaugural International Crew Chief Award. Morgan Dollar Motorsports was recognized by Chevrolet as the highest finishing Silverado team in the final 2004 NCTS standings.

Win one win, eight top-fives and 13 top-tens Sprague brought the No. 16 Chevy Trucks Silverado team seventh place when the final points were tallied. His six pole-winning qualifying runs netted him the season-ending Bud Pole Award as well. IWX Racing, the 2002 and 2003 NCTS championship winning team, fields Sprague's Chevy Trucks Silverado.

"When I was in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series through 2001, I was able to win races with trucks not as good as the Chevy Trucks Silverado I have driven all season," said Sprague. "The competition in this series is tough and I expect it will be even tougher next year. There used to be three, four, maybe five trucks and drivers going for the wins. Now there are 12 or 15 every race. We didn't have the season we have hoped to deliver to everyone at Chevrolet Silverado and GM Racing but there is a consistency and momentum in our team that will carry us into 2005."

David Starr, driver of the No. 75 Spears Silverado, finished sixth in points by posting two victories, eight top-fives, 16 top-tens and one Bud Pole.

"This was a great season for our Spears Silverado team," said Starr. "We would have loved to have had more wins but in this series, it is tough to get one, much less two. I am proud of everyone on this team, we developed consistency and had to overcome adversity, which just made us strong. It is an honor to be a Chevrolet Silverado associated team and we are determined to get more wins and be a strong contender for the NCTS championship next season. I appreciate Wayne and Connie Spears giving me the chance to drive for them and I look forward to being back in the Spears Silverado next season."

Matt Crafton captured fifth in the final standings behind the wheel of the GM Goodwrench Silverado owned by Kevin Harvick, Inc. with one of the best records of consistency in the field.

"Man we tried to get that first win and first pole this season, said Crafton. "We came close and had a good year when you look at the big picture. We had great consistency for a first-year team and although I would have like to have gotten a win GM Goodwrench, I think we had a good season."

Chevrolet Silverado continues to hold the record for NCTS victories and championships. As of 2004 season's end, Chevrolet Silverado visited victory lane a total of 109 times, almost double any other manufacturer.

The Silverado brand has won five of the ten possible NCTS championships. In addition, Silverado holds the NCTS record for most poles won as well as the most consecutive top-ten finishes since the 1995 inaugural season.

The 2005 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series season kicks off at Daytona International Speedway February 18, 2005.

For more information on Team Silverado in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series program, log on to

-gm racing-

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers David Starr , Kevin Harvick , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Matt Crafton