Erik Jones scores Iowa win

Erik Jones' bad luck streak has come to an end with a victory at Iowa Speedway.

After three-straight poles, Erik Jones was finally able to seal the deal and win the American Ethanol 200 at Iowa Speedway. It was his first win of the season and the first of the year for Kyle Busch Motorsports. Jones also led the most laps at 112/200.

"Definitely a fun night," Jones said. "We sat on the pole and won the race. Can't ask for any more than that."

Another Jones, Brandon Jones, finished second for the best run of his career.. Behind the top-two running Joneses, Tyler Reddick and Matt Crafton battled hard for third in the closing laps. Thatfight was won by Reddick, relegating title rival Crafton to fourth.

"We raced really hard; we raced clean," Reddick said of his battle with Crafton. "I'm just glad we were able to clear him off (turn) four."

"Definitely got to thank everyone at GMS, here," Brandon Jones said. "We're making gains."

Erik Jones led the first 43 laps before pitting during the second caution of the race. Johnny Sauter, after pitting during the first caution on lap 26, stayed out and inherited the lead. ThorSport Racing teammate Cameron Hayley did the same and restarted second. Their teammate, Crafton, restarted in the back of the top-10 after pitting but got to the front quickly on newer tires.

ThorSport held the top-three spots in the running order before Sauter faded, leaving his two teammates to battle up front. Bothe Hayley and Crafton led laps before Erik Jones retook the lead on a restart following a lap 121 caution.

The final pit stop

Brandon Jones got off pit road first by taking two tires during a yellow flag on lap 151. Erik Jones, meanwhile, restarted fourth with four fresh tires. When the race returned to green, he quickly raced from fourth to the lead.

"I was checking every possible scenario that could go wrong and trying to keep focused," Erik Jones said.

Christopher Bell finished fifth in his Truck Series debut.

"Learned a lot," Bell said. "Still got a lot to learn. Hopefully, I'll get another chance."

Finishing sixth through 10th were Timothy Peters, Spencer Gallagher, Daniel Hemric, Cole Custer and John Wes Townley.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Event Iowa
Track Iowa Speedway
Drivers Erik Jones
Teams Kyle Busch Motorsports
Article type Race report