Dover: News of note, schedule

* Year's list of different winners matches series record streak NEWS & NOTES String of 2004 winners matches series record ... Setzer's recent victory at Lowe's Motor Speedway equaled the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series record for most ...

* Year's list of different winners matches series record streak


String of 2004 winners matches series record ... Setzer's recent victory at Lowe's Motor Speedway equaled the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series record for most consecutive different winners to start a season. That's the fourth time in nine seasons the number has been reached, most recently in 2002. Ted Musgrave (No. 1 Mopar Dodge), the 2002 winner of the MBNA America 200, is among the more obvious candidates to increase the string to six. Musgrave is the only former winner expected to compete in this week's race.

Etc. ... Friday's race kicks off the season's second tripleheader show that also features the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series and NASCAR Busch Series. The event is the fifth (of 13) in which NASCAR NEXTEL Cup and NASCAR Craftsman Trucks compete in the same city during the same week. ... Just four entered drivers -- Crawford, Setzer, Terry Cook (No. 10 Power Stroke Diesel Ford) and Ken Schrader (No. 52 Federated Auto Parts Chevrolet) -- have competed in all four previous series races at Dover. Schrader leads the field in consistency with three top-10 finishes including a fifth place in 2000. ... There have been four different second place finishers in the MBNA America 200. Two -- Jack Sprague (No. 16 Chevy Trucks Chevrolet) and Bobby Hamilton (No. 4 Square D Dodge) are slated to compete this year. ... Dover's inaugural event saw the most lead changes -- 10 -- while the 2003 race recorded the fewest -- four. ... Mike Skinner (No. 42 Toyota Tundra Toyota), the series'1995 champion and Raybestos Rookie leader David Reutimann (No. 17 NTN Bearings Toyota) have one thing in common this week: neither has competed at Dover in a truck. ... ppc Racing has announced the hiring of Jamie Jones as crew chief for Cook. ... Gene Nead, formerly crew chief for Crawford, returns to lead the Musgrave effort. The combination finished third in last year's championship. ... A group of NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series drivers will visit Dover Air Force Base Thursday evening for a tour and visit with military personnel and family members. ... Brandon Whitt (No. 38 Cure Autism Now Ford) will be the "prize" in the June 30 installment of SPEED Channel's I Wanna Date A Race Car Driver. The show pits a handful of women vying for the privilege to date a race car driver, in this case, the 21-year old NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Raybestos Rookie from El Cajon, Calif.


Ultra Motorsports has 'Monster Mile's' number ... No series team has so dominated a single track as Ultra Motorsports at Dover International Speedway. The Jim Smith-owned trucks of Musgrave and Andy Houston (No. 2 Team ASE/Carquest Dodge) have won three straight years at Dover. Jason Leffler put the No. 2 Ram in victory circle a year ago while Scott Riggs won the 2001 event from the Bud Pole.


"I was a little worried that Jack (Roush) was going to fire me after the Dover race last year. I wrecked two of his trucks in one weekend and I felt awful for the entire team. That week Jack sat me down and told me to be patient and to calm down. The next week at Texas I finished second and nearly won. What Jack said after Dover has stuck with me and it has made me a better driver. The Dover race last year was definitely a turning point." -- Carl Edwards (No. 99 Superchips Ford) a four-time series winner since finishing 33rd and last in the 2003 MBNA America 200.

"You wouldn't think a Daytona truck would be good at Dover, but I think as long as you take any truck that handles well to Dover it will be okay." -- Jon Wood, (No. 50 Roush Racing Ford), last year's fourth-place finisher of the MBNA America 200, who will race the truck in which he finished seventh at Daytona in February.

"The 'Monster Mile' has its name for a reason. You continually race the racetrack; you never race another truck. If you can conquer the track, you will find yourself at the front of the pack. As soon as you get away from racing the track and you start racing the other trucks, you get yourself in trouble." -- Steve Park (No. 62 Orleans Racing Dodge).


No NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series team has won on each of the schedule's three concrete-surfaced speedways but one -- IWX Racing (Jack Sprague) -- could complete the cycle this week. IWX won at Bristol in 2003 with Travis Kvapil (No. 24 Line-X Toyota) and in 2002 at Nashville with Mike Bliss.

Fast Facts

What: MBNA America 200 (Race No. 6 of 25).

Where:  Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.

When: 4 p.m. ET, Friday, June 4.

Track layout: 1.0-mile banked concrete oval.
Race length: 200 miles/200 laps.

Posted awards: $603,594.

TV: SPEED Channel, 4 p.m. ET.
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2003 winner: Jason Leffler.
2003 polesitter: Bobby Hamilton.

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Thursday -- Practice 11:30 a.m. --12:45 p.m. and 1:15 -- 1:45 p.m. Qualifying 3:15 p.m. Final practice following qualifying, time permitting.

Top 10 in Points: 1. Dennis Setzer 815. 2. Carl Edwards 778. 3. Rick Crawford 698. 4. Bobby Hamilton 694. 5. Matt Crafton 679. 6. Mike Skinner 677. 7. Travis Kvapil 673. 8. Terry Cook 657. 9. Jon Wood 642. 10. David Reutimann 631.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Bobby Hamilton , Steve Park , Jason Leffler , Mike Skinner , Ken Schrader , Andy Houston , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Terry Cook , Jon Wood , Scott Riggs , Matt Crafton , Mike Bliss , David Reutimann , Carl Edwards , Brandon Whitt , Jim Smith , Travis Kvapil