Bristol: News of note, schedule

* Five former series champions among Bristol Motor Speedway entries NEWS & NOTES Five series champions entered at Bristol ... With Mike Bliss (No. 06 MRD Motorsports Chevrolet) making his first appearance since November 2002, five NASCAR ...

* Five former series champions among Bristol Motor Speedway entries


Five series champions entered at Bristol ... With Mike Bliss (No. 06 MRD Motorsports Chevrolet) making his first appearance since November 2002, five NASCAR Craftsman Truck champions could be part of the O'Reilly 200 starting field. He joins series regulars Hornaday, Sprague, Bobby Hamilton (No. 04 Bailey's Dodge) and Mike Skinner (No. 5 Toyota Tundra Toyota). Bliss is the only former NASCAR Craftsman Truck champion without a start since winning the title.

ETC. ... The Bristol event is the fifth (of seven) races held this season on tracks of less than a mile. There have been four different winners and eight consecutive different winners on short tracks dating to Chad Chaffin's (No. 60 Jeff Wyler Toyota) Aug. 6, 2004 victory at Indianapolis Raceway Park. ... Hornaday and Sprague are the only O'Reilly 200 winners expected to compete this week. ... Kyle Busch (No. 15 Chevrolet) returns to the series at Bristol. Busch won back-to-back races at Lowe's Motor Speedway and Dover International Speedway and finished second in his most recent start in June at Michigan International Speedway. ... Raybestos Rookie of the Year leader Todd Kluever (No. 50 World Financial Group Ford) hopes to improve on the best rookie performance at Bristol. Jay Sauter finished third in 1996. ... Chevrolet has won five times at Bristol Motor Speedway. Ford counts two victories. ... The O'Reilly 200 is the third and final series race to be run this year in Tennessee. It is the 26th race to be held in the Volunteer State. Virginia also has hosted 26 events with two more on the schedule -- at Richmond Sept. 8 and Martinsville Oct. 22. ON THE RIGHT TRACK

Bodine, Spencer shine in Thunder Valley ... Todd Bodine (No. 30 Germain Motors Toyota) and Jimmy Spencer (No. 2 Team ASE Dodge) may be first-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck competitors at Bristol, but each has tasted victory at the speedway. Bodine's NASCAR Busch Series wins came in 1992-93 while Spencer also won twice in the division in 1997 and 2002. Spencer has three top-five finishes in NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series competition including a second place in March 2002.

Hornaday is Bristol lap leader ... Hornaday didn't lead a lap at Bristol until his third appearance there but the California native is the series' laps/miles leader with 378/201.474. He's the only competitor to lead three different races -- 1997, '98 and '99. QUOTEBOOK

"Bristol is the hardest track in the world to keep the body straight and keep to a race strategy." -- Jack Sprague, a Bristol winner and top-10 finisher in five of his six appearances at the track.

"You can't see what is happening in the corners so Jerry is [serves as] my eyes. I never second-guess what he tells me and at Bristol you don't have time to question anything. If we can come out of Bristol with all four fenders on it, I will be happy." -- Chase Montgomery, No. 18 Dodge, on how much he depends upon spotter Jerry Adcock.

"Bristol is always exciting, no matter what you're driving." -- Tim Fedewa, No. 65 Cancun/Baja Vacations/Planet X Dodge, who has competed in 23 NASCAR Busch Series races at Thunder Valley with a best finish of second in March 2001. Wednesday's race will be his first in a truck.

"There is nothing we race on that is similar to Bristol. Bristol is such a unique track by itself. Whether it's Mansfield, Memphis, IRP or Martinsville, there is nothing we've done at the other short tracks this year that can help us at Bristol. "-- Terry Cook, No. 10 Ford Power Stroke Diesel by International Ford. Cook, a five-time series winner, has yet to win at Bristol.

"All crew chiefs have a love-hate relationship with Bristol. You love taking a truck there but you hate bringing one home from there." -- Randy Seals, crew chief of the No. 4 Bailey's Dodge driven by Raybestos rookie contender Timothy Peters.


Bristol Motor Speedway is the site of Ford's first victory in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series on June 23, 1995. Ruttman and Butch Miller battled fender-to-fender until the 143rd of 150 laps when Ruttman -- amazingly -- surprised his rival by diving onto the apron between Turns One and Two. Geoffrey Bodine was second with Miller third and sprint car star Sammy Swindell fourth as Ford swept the first four positions.


The last three drivers to win the Bud Pole at Bristol Motor Speedway have failed to finish among the top five. Greg Biffle (1999) finished ninth, Ted Musgrave (2003) was 15th and Ken Schrader (2004) placed 10th. Neither Biffle nor Schrader was able to lead a lap racing from the No. 1 starting position.

Fast Facts

Next Event: O'Reilly 200 presented by Valvoline. (Race No. 17 of 25)

Where: Bristol Motor Speedway.
When: 9:15 p.m. ET, Wednesday, Aug. 24.

Track layout: .533-mile banked concrete oval.
Race length: 200 laps/106.6 miles.

Posted awards: $461,774.

TV: SPEED Channel, 9:00 p.m. ET.
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2004 winner: Carl Edwards.
2004 polesitter: Ken Schrader.

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Wednesday -- Practice 11:15 -- 12:30 p.m. and 1 -- 2 p.m. Qualifying at 5:30 p.m. Trucks impounded after qualifying.

Top 10 drivers: 1. Dennis Setzer 2,400. 2. Ted Musgrave 2,222. 3. Bobby Hamilton 2,188. 4. Ron Hornaday Jr. 2,133. 5. David Reutimann 2,114. 6. Jimmy Spencer 2,089. 7. Matt Crafton 2,017. 8. Mike Skinner 1,996. 9. Ricky Craven 1,982. 10. David Starr 1,976.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Bobby Hamilton , Todd Bodine , Mike Skinner , Geoffrey Bodine , Ken Schrader , Jimmy Spencer , David Starr , Greg Biffle , Jay Sauter , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Ted Musgrave , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Terry Cook , Chase Montgomery , Matt Crafton , Chad Chaffin , Mike Bliss , David Reutimann , Carl Edwards , Todd Kluever , Timothy Peters , Butch Miller , Kyle Busch