Toyota tidbits 2010-05-18

DOVER DELIVERED: Toyota drivers swept all three NASCAR series races for the second time at Dover (Del.) International Speedway last weekend -- marking just the eighth time in history that one manufacturer has won all three NASCAR races at...

DOVER DELIVERED: Toyota drivers swept all three NASCAR series races for the second time at Dover (Del.) International Speedway last weekend -- marking just the eighth time in history that one manufacturer has won all three NASCAR races at one track during the same race weekend. Kyle Busch won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series (NSCS) and NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) races, and Aric Almirola picked up his first career victory in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS). Toyota previously accomplished the feat at Dover in 2008 when Busch (NSCS), Denny Hamlin (NNS) and Scott Speed (NCWTS) won.

KYLE CONQUERED MONSTER: Busch captured the checkered flag in Sunday's NSCS race at the one-mile Dover oval. Busch tamed the track known as the 'Monster Mile' and finished more than seven seconds ahead of second-place Jeff Burton. The win was Busch's second of the season and it was the fifth victory in the last seven NSCS races by a Joe Gibbs Racing (JGR) team. Busch started fourth and led the field six times for a total of 131 laps (of 400). In Saturday's NNS race at Dover, Busch dominated the 205-lap event en route to his fourth series win this year. Busch led the field twice for a total of 191 laps (of 205) after starting from the pole.

ALL-STAR FIRST: David Reutimann won his first NSCS race one year ago at Charlotte Motor Speedway (CMS) in the Coca- Cola 600. That win has led the driver of the Michael Waltrip Racing (MWR) No. 00 Camry to another career first -- a confirmed starting position in the 2010 Sprint All-Star race. Reutimann has competed in two Sprint Showdown races -- finishing fourth (2009) and sixth (2008) -- just short of racing his way into the non-points, special event.

ALL-STAR CAMRYS: Four Camry drivers are scheduled to compete in Saturday night's Sprint All-Star Race at CMS -- Busch, Hamlin, Joey Logano and Reutimann. Busch was the only Camry driver to lead laps in last year's All-Star race (33 of 100), while his JGR teammate, Logano, earned his way into the race by receiving the highest number of votes from fans. Busch earned the pole in 2008 and led 38 of 100 laps, but he retired with mechanical problems and finished 24th. In 2008, Hamlin also took a turn leading (seven laps), but would also experience mechanical problems and finish 23rd.

ARIC ARRIVED: Almirola came back from two laps down to win his first career NCWTS race in Friday's event at Dover. Almirola was running third on lap 198 of the 204-lap event at the one-mile concrete oval -- when he was able to pass race-leader Busch and second-place Johnny Benson on a restart following a caution period. During additional late-race caution periods and a green-white-checkered flag finish, the 26-year-old driver was able to hold off all challengers to register win number one in the NCWTS -- in his 55th series start.

TUNDRAS TRY TO TAME CHARLOTTE: Charlotte is one of only two race tracks on the current schedule where a Tundra driver has not been to victory lane in the NCWTS. Tundra drivers have earned four poles at the track -- Mike Skinner (2005, 2006 and 2007) and Busch (2008) -- but have not yet captured a checkered flag. Pocono Raceway, which will host its first NCWTS race this year, is the only other track in the current series schedule where a Tundra has not been to victory lane.

AND THE WINNER IS - : The winner of the Toyota 'Sponsafy Your Ride' contest will be unveiled at CMS on Saturday, May 22 at 4:00 PM, prior to the running of the Sprint All-Star race. Two of the Toyota 'Sponsafier' Sprint Cup cars from the Toyota TV commercials will be on display at the All-Star race, and the top-three contest finalists cars will also be on display at Toyota's 'PitPass' exhibit following the unveiling on May 22.

FAN FRIENDLY: The Toyota 'PitPass' display will make its way to CMS for two weeks of racing, providing fans with numerous interactive exhibits to enjoy while taking in the action. In addition to the 'PitPass' display, Toyota vehicle owners will also be able to enjoy the Toyota Owner's Hospitality area, located near the Smith Tower at the entrance to CMS. Toyota owners can show their car key for admission and enjoy refreshments, giveaways and driver appearances during the weekend activities.

-source: toyota motorsports

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Jeff Burton , Michael Waltrip , Mike Skinner , Johnny Benson , Scott Speed , David Reutimann , Denny Hamlin , Aric Almirola , Joey Logano , Kyle Busch
Teams Michael Waltrip Racing , Joe Gibbs Racing