Stenhouse Jr. brings home RFR’s 13th NASCAR Rookie of the Year Award

“It is such an honor to win this award”

CONCORD, N.C. (Nov. 17, 2013) – Ricky Stenhouse Jr. closed out Roush Fenway Racing’s (RFR) 13th NASCAR Rookie of the Year award with his 22nd -place performance in Sunday’s Sprint Cup season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Roush Fenway Racing Ford
Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Roush Fenway Racing Ford

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

“It is such an honor to win this award,” Stenhouse said. “Many Sprint Cup champions won the Rookie of the Year honors so hopefully I can add my name to that list one day. To win the Nationwide ROTY honors in 2010 and now the Sprint Cup ROTY three years later is a great achievement and a true testament of the strength of Roush Fenway Racing.”

Stenhouse, who won the NASCAR Nationwide Series (NNS) rookie award in 2010, becomes the third Roush Fenway driver to bring home multiple NASCAR Rookie awards, joining Carl Edwards and Greg Biffle.

He is the first RFR driver to win the Sprint Cup Rookie of the Year award since Matt Kenseth in 2000.

Greg Biffle brought home RFR’s first NASCAR Rookie award in 1998 in the Truck Series. He also won RFR’s first Rookie Award in the NNS in 2001. All-in-all, a total of 10 drivers have won NASCAR Rookie Awards for RFR.

The two-time NASCAR champion, will be honored for his accomplishment during NASCAR Champions Week in Las Vegas.

Roush Fenway Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Matt Kenseth , Greg Biffle , Carl Edwards , Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
Teams Roush Fenway Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags homestead, nascar sprint cup, stenhouse