Roush Yates Engines race report


Roush Yates Engines Enjoy Winning Performance at Texas, Indiana

FT. WORTH, TX (April 10, 2011) - Call it a "Texas tornado" sweep for Roush Yates Engines as Carl Edwards (NASCAR Nationwide Series) and Matt Kenseth (Sprint Cup Series) won on Friday and Saturday night, respectively, with Roush Yates Ford FR9 power. As Kenseth claimed victory in last night's Samsung 500 at the Texas Motor Speedway, dirt dominator Scott Bloomquist won his 506th career Late Model Dirt feature in the Lucas Oil Series' Indiana Icebreaker at Brownstown (IN) Speedway. The 2010 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion campaigns Roush Yates power.

Matt Kenseth, Roush Fenway Racing Ford
Matt Kenseth, Roush Fenway Racing Ford

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

In all, five Roush Yates-powered Ford entries comprised half of the top-10-finishers at Texas, which included all four Roush Fenway teams as well as Richard Petty Motorsports' Marcos Ambrose. The win was Kenseth's 19th career in the Cup Series - after a 76-race win drought. The weekend also saw No. 1 qualifying performances by Roush Fenway's Edwards prior to Friday night's winning Nationwide Series performance; and David Ragan, who earned his first career Sprint Cup Series pole with a blistering lap that was 1.299 mph faster than teammate and No. 2 qualifier Edwards.

The recently developed Ford FR9 engine, which was slowly brought online by developer/builder Roush Yates Engines over the 2010 season, is now fully deployed among NASCAR's top Ford Nationwide Series and Sprint Cup Series teams, which include Roush Fenway Racing, Richard Petty Motorsports, 2011 Daytona 500 winner Wood Brothers Racing, Front Row Motorsports, and newcomer TRG Motorsports.

Kenseth, who started fourth and led the most laps at 169, was clearly overjoyed in victory lane. "I haven't had something like this for a long, long time," he said. "It has been a long time. I am really happy for Jimmie [Fennig, crew chief] and all these guys on the Crown Royal Black Ford. I have lost a lot of close ones at this track. It feels good to be able to close it out."

Scott Bloomquist, who, like Kenseth, had built a sizeable lead at Brownstown Speedway before taking the checkers, commented: "The car was superb out there tonight. You could run anywhere. The Roush Yates engine didn't miss a beat."

Carl Edwards
Carl Edwards

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

In addition to the success at Texas and Indiana, other Roush Yates-powered Ford entries were victorious Saturday afternoon as the driving duo of Scott Maxwell and Joe Foster claimed the first competition victory for the Ford (Roush Yates) Boss 302R engine in the Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge at Barber Motorsports Park in Alabama and Josh Richards took his Ford Roush Yates-powered Dirt Late Model to Victory Lane in Winchester, VA.

Roush Yates CEO Doug Yates believes the combining of the power and reliability of his products with the preparedness of the teams who use them has been one of the keys to returning Ford Racing to consistent up-front performances and being true contenders for the 2011 Sprint Cup and Nationwide Series championships.

"We're really happy to see (Roush Yates Engines) clients performing so well, across so many teams," Yates said. "With the Woods winning at Daytona, to Nationwide and Cup Series poles and wins spread out across so many of the Roush Fenway drivers, that is the service and consistency our company strives for as a provider of engines.

"We want all our clients to experience this kind of success," Yates added. "That's really our company mantra from the premier divisions in NASCAR as well to those who choose our Performance Engine Group to supply engines anywhere from Daytona Prototype to Late Model Dirt to Off-Road ... Modified, Drag Racing and more. Yes, it was a great weekend for us ... and we even have a Sunday off."

-source: roush yates engines

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Matt Kenseth , Scott Bloomquist , Scott Maxwell , Richard Petty , Marcos Ambrose , Carl Edwards , David Ragan , Joe Foster , Josh Richards
Teams Front Row Motorsports , Richard Petty Motorsports , Roush Fenway Racing , Wood Brothers Racing , TRG Motorsports
Tags ford, nationwide, sprint cup, texas motorspeedway