Roush Fenway Racing to celebrate 25 years in NASCAR racing

Roush Fenway Racing press release

Roush Fenway to Commemorate “25 Winning Years” in 2012
Program to highlight Performance, People, Partners and Innovation heading into Roush Fenway’s 25th Season

Jack Roush
Jack Roush

Photo by: Alexander Trienitz

CONCORD, N.C. (Jan. 26, 2012) – Coming off one of the strongest seasons in its quarter-decade history, Roush Fenway Racing will commemorate 2012 by celebrating its 25th Anniversary of racing at NASCAR’s highest levels.

Roush Fenway kicked off its “25 Winning Years” program this week on Charlotte Motor Speedway’s annual media tour, where they asked media to name what it considers the top moment of the organization’s celebrated 24-year racing history.

“We’ve had a number of critical milestones since we started in 1988,” said team co-owner Jack Roush. “I looked around the room at the media tour at all the trophies we had on display and there is a great deal of emotion that comes to mind when I see each piece. Each trophy has a different story and represents a different milestone and sacrifice.

“From the first win with Mark Martin at Rockingham in 1989 to our 299th win last season with Trevor Bayne in Texas, they all mean something,” added Roush. “Along the way we’ve won multiple championships in all three NASCAR Series, with Greg (Biffle) getting the first two and Matt Kenseth getting our first Cup championship in 2003.”

Since founding the company in 1988, Jack Roush has seen the organization amass a record 299 victories. Roush Fenway currently boasts 125 Sprint Cup wins and is the winningest team in both NASCAR’s Nationwide and Truck Series’.

Just last season Roush Fenway collected both the NASCAR Nationwide Series Driver and Owner’s Championship and led Ford to the manufacturer’s championship in the series. The organization came just short of NASCAR history, finishing tied in points for the Sprint Cup Championship; which would have made RFR the first team in NASCAR history to collect NASCAR’s two highest honors in the same season.

Historically Roush Fenway has boasted its greatest success by being able to successfully compete across multiple platforms with different drivers. The 2011 season was no different, seeing five different drivers win races in Roush Fenway Fords and bringing the 24-year total to 17 different drivers that have driven Roush Fenway equipment to victory lane.

In addition, as a testament to the power behind the Fords, Roush Fenway won a team-record 20 poles in 2011 to go along with its 17 victories.

Roush Fenway registered its first NASCAR victory on Oct. 22, 1989 at North Carolina Motor Speedway. The next trip to victory lane will mark its record 300th NASCAR win. Along the way the team has accumulated trophies including the famed Daytona 500, Coca-Cola 600, All Star, Budweiser Shootout and Southern 500, as well as championships in all three of NASCAR highest levels.

To properly commemorate the season, Roush Fenway will celebrate four specific areas vital to the organization’s success in 2012; performance, people, partners and innovation.

The performance that makes it vital to survive in the competitive world of NASCAR, the people and partners that make it possible to perform at that level for that period of time and the innovation born of the team’s 25-year legacy will all be highlighted throughout the program.

“It’s not just about being around for 25 years, it’s about living up to a level of sustained success for that long of a time period,” added Roush. “Our 25 winning years are based on these four areas that we believe to be the cornerstones of this organization.”

During the course of the season, the team, media and fans will all be asked to join in the program, as Roush Fenway continues to commemorate its “25 Winning Years” through various social channels and platforms.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Matt Kenseth , Trevor Bayne , Jack Roush , Mark Martin
Teams Roush Fenway Racing
Tags fenway, ford, roush