Roush Fenway Racing looking forward to Daytona Shootout

Roush Fenway Racing press release

Roush Fenway kicks off its 25th season of NASCAR racing with this season’s all-star Budweiser Shootout. RFR will place three drivers in the shootout; Matt Kenseth, Greg Biffle and Carl Edwards.

Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing Ford
Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing Ford

Photo by: Eric Gilbert

Greg Biffle, No. 16 3M Ford
Matt Kenseth, No. 17 Best Buy Ford
Carl Edwards, No. 99 Fastenal Ford

RFR Celebrates “25 Winning Years”
Roush Fenway celebrates “25 Winning Years” in 2012. During that span, RFR has accumlated the most wins in NASCAR history with 299, and is the all-time race winner in both the Nationwide and Truck Series. During the season the team will highlight the performance, people, innovation and partners that have been the cornerstone of its performance.

Roush Fenway and the Shootout
This will be Roush Fenway’s 24th consecutive year with at least one car in the Shootout. The team made its debut in the Shootout (then the Busch Clash) in 1989 with the No. 6 Ford of Mark Martin. During that span Roush Fenway has fielded 48 entries in the Shootout, posting 12 top-five and 27 top-10 finishes, including one victory and two runner-up finishes. All in all Roush Fenway has fielded multiple cars in the Shootout 13 times, with nine different drivers behind the wheel.

Victory Lane
Roush Fenway Racing boasts one victory in the Shootout, with Mark Martin taking the checkered flag in the 1999 all-star event.

How they qualified
Each of the 12 qualifying Chase drivers from last season are included, as well as past champions and Daytona winners. Edwards and Kenseth each qualify for the Shootout via their Chase status in ‘11, when they finished second and fourth. Biffle is a past winner at Daytona and top 25 points finisher from last season (16th).

Last Season
Greg Biffle led the way for RFR in the Shootout with a fifth-place finish. In the debut of tandem racing, Kenseth lost his drafting partner early and finished 13th, while Edwards got caught up in a late accident and finished 21st.

Did You know?
Greg Biffle’s 44 laps led in the 2005 Shootout are the most by a driver who did not win the event and the second most ever. Edwards’ 42 laps led in 2011, is the second most by a driver not winning the event.

RFR at Daytona
In addition to the 1999 Shootout win, Roush Fenway has posted three other wins at DIS in Sprint Cup competition. Most recently last summer with David Ragan, the 2009 Daytona 500 with Matt Kenseth and the 2007 and 2003 summer races with Jamie McMurray and Greg Biffle. In addition, Roush Fenway won at Daytona in 2004 and 2006 in the NASCAR Truck Series.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Matt Kenseth , Greg Biffle , Jamie McMurray , Carl Edwards , Eric Gilbert , David Ragan , Mark Martin
Teams Roush Fenway Racing
Tags biffle, edwards, ford, kenseth, roush