RFR's Biffle captures milestone 1,000th win for Ford

Roush Fenway Racing's Biffle win on Sunday came on the exact 110th birthday of Ford Motor Company.

Mooresville, NC - Greg Biffle brought home Ford Racing’s 1000th win across NASCAR’s three national series with an impressive finish in the Quicken Loans 400 Sprint Cup Series race at Michigan International Speedway on Sunday.

Ford drivers started the weekend off fast, with Roush Fenway Racing driver Carl Edwards putting down an impressive lap during qualifying with a speed of 202.452 mph to start on the pole for Sunday’s race.

Race winner Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing Ford
Race winner Greg Biffle, Roush Fenway Racing Ford

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

Edwards led 16 laps, but in the end it was Biffle who held off Kevin Harvick and Jimmie Johnson to claim his 19th career victory and give Ford Motor Company a second consecutive win at their home track.

“It’s really exciting to see all the racing heritage and to be able to be a part of the 1,000th win,” said Biffle.

“I think I contributed to over 50 of those, which is a small number compared to 1,000, but I’m still excited. I was worried about the 48 [Jimmie Johnson] towards the end, but when I got in clean air, it was over.”

Of Ford Racing’s 1,000 wins, 715 were won in the Sprint Cup Series, 200 were won in the Nationwide Series, and 85 were won in the Camping World Truck Series. The Roush and Yates families combined have contributed to 414 of these victories over the years.

“I have been with Ford Motor Company and they have been supporting me for almost 50 years now,” said Jack Roush, owner of the No. 16 3M Ford Fusion. “We expect to be our best when we come to MIS and I am glad we could pull it off and give Ford their 1,000th win.

I was no less proud to have helped Ford win its 1000th race in NASCAR as I was to win the race here at the 100th anniversary of Ford Motor Company. Both are great milestones that I’ve been honored to be a part of.”

Biffle’s win on Sunday came on the exact 110th birthday of Ford Motor Company. Jamie Allison, Director of Ford Racing, couldn’t think of a better birthday present than to celebrate in Victory Lane.

“First I want to congratulate the winner Greg Biffle and his team. What a great moment that is. Thanks to all the Ford teams and Roush Fenway, Penske, the Wood Brothers, Germain Racing, Front Row Motorsports, and Richard Petty Motorsports and all those that have accumulated these wins throughout the years,” said Allison.

“We couldn’t be prouder to have this moment come here today at Michigan in front of so many of our Ford friends. What a great race and a great day for Ford.”

Biffle’s win comes with only 11 races left until the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship. Three Fords remain in the top 10 in points with Carl Edwards second, Greg Biffle eighth, and Brad Keselowski in ninth.

Roush Yates Engines saw additional Ford wins in the grassroots series this weekend.

Jason Johnson won his fourth Lucas Oil ASCS race of the season with his Roush Yates Sprint 360 engine at Kennedale Speedway Park in the Real Sizzlin Summer Speedweeks feature.

Johnson, driver of the Stenhouse Jr. Motorsports No. 41, started on the front row and was able to get past pole sitter Ryan Hall within a couple of laps to take the win on Friday night.

“My guys have been working their tails off these past few weeks. We’ve kind of been off. We haven’t won a race in a month, and for us that’s a long time,” said Johnson. “They built a brand new car and Chris Moss with Roush Yates has been working on our engines trying to get them faster.”

Rick Eckert captured his third straight victory in Paul Crowl’s No. 7 with his Roush Yates Ford Dirt Late Model engine at Winchester Speedway on Saturday. Eckert won the 35-lap Paul Johnson Memorial, his second win of the season in Winchester and fourth win in seven starts.

“This place was real racy tonight. I was able to move around a bit and the car was working really well up top,” said Eckert. “I have to thank Paul for giving me the opportunity to drive his car and I’m glad to be able to get another win for him here tonight.”

Roush Fenway Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Kevin Harvick , Greg Biffle , Jimmie Johnson , Rick Eckert , Richard Petty , Carl Edwards , Jack Roush , Brad Keselowski , John Paul , Jason Johnson , Ryan Hall
Teams Germain Racing , Front Row Motorsports , Richard Petty Motorsports , Roush Fenway Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags biffle, ford, mis, nascar-cup, nascar sprint cup, roush fenway racing