Rain washes out qualifying: Harvick on pole

Storms have forced NASCAR to cancel Sprint Cup qualifying at Chicagoland Speedway.

For the 16th time in his NASCAR Sprint Cup career, Kevin Harvick will lead the field to the green flag. The reigning series champion will line up alongside Joey Logano.

The lineup has been set by practice speeds and Harvick was a mere six hundredths faster than the Team Penske driver.

Row 2 will be filled by another pair of Chase drivers - Brad Keselowski and Martin Truex Jr. Keselowski has emerged victorious in this race in two of the last three years. Austin Dillon is the highest starting non-Chaser in fifth.

The remainder of the top ten are also teams that will take part in the postseason: Ryan Newman, Kyle Busch, Kasey Kahne, Kurt Busch, and Jeff Gordon.

Qualifying was scheduled to start at 5:45pm, local time, but showers moved in and hit the race track just past 4pm, halting Camping World Truck Series qualifying with just four trucks remaining in the first round.

As for the other Chase-eligible drivers: Jimmie Johnson starts 11th, Matt Kenseth 12th, Jamie McMurray 13th, Carl Edwards 14th, Paul Menard 16th, Dale Earnhardt Jr. 19th, Clint Bowyer 27th, and Denny Hamlin 29th.

Denny Hamlin, who complained of a tight condition after placing 30th on the time sheets in practice, has the worst starting position of all 16 Chase competitors.

Going home

Ryan Blaney was ninth-quickest in practice but for the third time this season, he and the Wood Brothers crew are being sent home due to a rainout and a lack of points. The No. 21 only runs a partial schedule, putting them at a severe disadvantage when the DNQs are determined by owner points. 

Michael McDowell in the No. 95 and Travis Kvapil in the No. 30 are the other two drivers who will miss the show.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Event Chicagoland
Track Chicagoland Speedway
Article type Qualifying report