Only five cars take part in Thursday Daytona 500 practice

Most teams opted to sit out practice today.

Ahead of the Budweiser Duels at Daytona tonight, teams got one more practice session earlier today, but most of the field decided not to take part. In fact, Kyle Larson, Cole Whitt, Michael Annett, JJ Yeley, and Jeb Burton were the drivers to run.

Of those five, Larson was quickest with a speed of 192.699mph (46.705 seconds). There was no drafting during this session. Larson also ran the most laps at 18.

This 75 minute session was the fifth Daytona 500 practice of Speed Weeks.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Event Daytona 500
Track Daytona International Speedway
Drivers Michael Annett , Cole Whitt , Kyle Larson , Jeb Burton
Article type Practice report