News 98-01-12

Courtesy of NASCARFans E-Mail Newsletter ===== Jayski's news collection: Broadcast Sports Technology and CBS will have a new and improved roofcam on Winston Cup Cars for the CBS telecast of the Daytona 500. The new unit will be smaller and ...

Courtesy of NASCARFans E-Mail Newsletter

===== Jayski's news collection:

Broadcast Sports Technology and CBS will have a new and improved roofcam on Winston Cup Cars for the CBS telecast of the Daytona 500. The new unit will be smaller and lighter than the aircraft style-pod previously used. NASCAR outlawed roofcams last season because the aerodynamics of the cars carrying the cameras were affected, some makes benefitted, some were slowed by the camera pods. It is expected the new unit will address these concerns satisfactorily.

Speaking of CBS, they will have a Daytona 500 Preview on 1-17-98 at 1:00 PM

During TNN's Raceday today, Bud Moore was interviewed about running ARCA Champion Tim Steele in his famous #15 Ford. The team has two Taurus's being built and expect to announce a sponsor signing within the next week or so. (TNN)

About Geoff Bodine's sponsorship search, John Porter, one of his partners, is involved with a company called WorldCom, and WorldCom was all set to sponsor the team. But WorldCom is merging with MCI, and as long as that merger is pending, WorldCom can't take on new ventures like sponsoring a race team. So Bodine had to go looking again.(Charlotte Observer)

Rusty Wallace confirmed Saturday that engine builder Mike Egge has left the Penske South team. Wallace failed to finish 11 races in 1997, and eight of those were caused by engine problems.(Charlotte Observer)

While Tommy Kendall is considering the #27 David Blair ride, nothing has been signed and as Kendall said on last weeks TNN's Raceday it's been an on/off type of deal with sponsorship needed before a deal can be done.

Lee Leslie, who was the crew chief of the #95 Sadler Bros Chevy in 1997 has been named the crew chief of the #71 Dave Marcis Realtree Chevy in 1998(WC Scene and NSSN)

#14 Pontiac owner, Richard Jackson is looking put together a 10 race sponsorship deal with Loy Allen as the driver(WC Scene) ===== New format for the Winston:

FIRST SEGMENT: Goes until 30 green-flag laps have been completed. 10-MINUTE BREAK: A wheel with the Nos. 3 through 12 will be spun to determine how much of the field will be inverted. If, for example, the wheel stops on seven, the top seven cars will be inverted, with the seventh-place finisher starting first in the second segment, followed by sixth place, fifth and so on. The cars finishing eighth through 20th will restart in the order they finished the opening segment.

If you want more in-depth information, look here:

(David Poole, Charlotte Observer) =====

Dale Jarrett was named Sunday morning as winner of the Richard Petty Driver of the Year award, which is voted upon by members of the National Motorsports Press Association. The NMPA held its annual convention here Sunday. ``This really means a lot,'' said Jarrett, who won seven races in 1997 and finished second by 14 points to Jeff Gordon in the Winston Cup standings. ``The name of the man on the award, Richard Petty, makes it mean even more. I grew up around the race track and he has been a good friend and somebody I have gone to for advice about my career.'' (David Poole, Charlotte Observer)


Here's Dale Earnhardt's take on his team being docked a testing date from a week or so ago:

``Not a problem,'' Earnhardt said. ``They've not had a real solid testing rule book or criteria of what you can and can't do. I think we were pushing it to the limit like a lot of guys have.

``It's time NASCAR put some guidelines in place. It doesn't matter to me what they do, we'll do whatever they say do. It'll just cut one more test out I won't have to do.'' (David Poole, Charlotte Observer)


Butch Gilliland battled his way past Ken Schrader in the closing laps to win the Winter Heat 200 NASCAR Winston West Series event at Tucson Raceway Park on Sunday. (NASCAR Online)


Heilig-Meyers Furniture will sponsor the Junie Donlavey-owned No. 90 Ford Taurus driven by Dick Trickle on the NASCAR Winston Cup Series for the sixth year, it was announced. (NASCAR Online)


Mike Stefanik was awarded the Eastern Motorsport Press Association's Northeast Driver of the Year Award. Stefanik won the Busch Grand National North and the Featherlite Modified championships in 1997. Stefanik was given his award at EMPA's NASCAR lunch so Mike could fly to New England for the BGNN Banquet that evening. Al Robinson, from Dover Downs, flew with Stefanik on the NASCAR plane to emcee the evening's events in New England.


Gateway International Raceway took another giant stock car racing step Thursday (1/8) when track officials announced that Carquest Auto Parts had signed a three-year agreement to become the title sponsor of the NASCAR Busch Grand National race this fall.

The Carquest Auto Parts 250 will be run on Oct. 17 and televised nationally by CBS.

Elliott Sadler won last year's inaugural race when it was known as the Gateway 300. That race took place in late July and the temperature hit 104 degrees. (from the St. Louis Post Dispatch, courtesy of Roger - thanks!)


More from Jayski's news collection:

Some General Motors teams comes into Daytona today for the second test from the 12th thru the 14th. I have heard Ernie Irvan will test the Skittles Pontiac during this test.

Some more details on the Winston:

Some details: The Winston Open will be No Bull 25 races on qualifying night for The Winston. The Winston Cup drivers not qualified for The Winston will run in a pair of 25-lap, 37.5-mile qualifying races to set the starting order for the Winston Open. The winner of the Open gets the final starting spot for The Winston. The purse for the No Bull 25s will be $100,000, with the purse for the Open increased from $193,000 to $350,000. Winston will dole out $1.338 million for the all-star weekend, including the $200,000 winner's share for The Winston. Only green-flag laps will count during The Winston. Drivers on pit road under caution may be lapped by the pace car and will be a lap down. Teams may pit before the final segment of The Winston, but they'll lose track position. All restarts will be double-file.(SpeedNet)

Long-time Winston Cup driver Dave Marcis was named the 1997 NMPA Spirit Award recipient on Sunday. Marcis, who has struggled and battled for years as an independent owner-driver, beat out fellow quarterly winners Rick Hendrick, Joe Nemechek and Rich Bickle.(SpeedNet)

Jeff Hammond, former Darrell Waltrip WC crew chief is the new crew chief on the #47 Dollar Transportation Ford Truck driven by Andy Michner(Inside NASCAR - TNN, thanks Monica), the truck is listed as #46 on the entry sheets

Record truck entry seen in Orlando, All three former NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champions, an Indianapolis 500 veteran and a trio of current NASCAR Winston Cup Series stars top the preliminary entry list for the Jan. 18 Chevy Trucks Challenge at Walt Disney World Speedway near Orlando, Fla. (NASCAR Online)

Feburary 2, 1998 is the Return of the daily edition RPM2Night on ESPN2 at 7pm. Otherwise the show can still be seen on ESPN2 on Sunday late night at various times(In part from Racing Rumors & News)


Mike Irwin (mailto:Mike@NASCARFans.Com) NASCARFans _______________________________________

NASCAR Fans Website

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Rich Bickle , Jeff Gordon , Ernie Irvan , Dale Jarrett , Darrell Waltrip , Dick Trickle , Rusty Wallace , Ken Schrader , Joe Nemechek , Dave Marcis , Tim Steele , Richard Petty , Elliott Sadler , Tommy Kendall