News 97-10-28

NASCARFans E-Mail List I got a report this morning from a fan at "Lake Rockingham" ...

NASCARFans E-Mail List

I got a report this morning from a fan at "Lake Rockingham" . The race is at 10:00 e.s.t. this morning on TNN (if it doesn't get cancelled again!) ===== Four drivers headed home (Saturday) after second-day qualifying left them out of the field for (Monday's) AC Delco 400 at North Carolina Motor Speedway: Brett Bodine, Dave Marcis, Ed Berrier and Kenny Irwin Jr. Darrell Waltrip was the slowest of all drivers, but accepted a champion's provisional that got him in the field. Other provisionals went to, in order, Ernie Irvan, Jimmy Spencer, John Andretti and Greg Sacks. (Skip Wood, Times-Dispatch) ===== Mark Martin's fourth consecutive victory at North Carolina Motor Speedway yesterday in the AC Delco 200 made him the winningest driver in the history of NASCAR's Busch Grand National Series.

Martin, one of the biggest stars in the Winston Cup series and strictly a part-timer on the Busch circuit, took the lead from Ricky Craven 13 laps from the end of a very competitive 197-lap race, then pulled away to record his 32nd Busch Series win.

That broke the record he shared with Jack Ingram, whose last victory came in 1987. (AP, Times-Dispatch) ===== The Wood brothers' Stuart, Va.-based team, according to several sources, is interested in hiring Gary DeHart as crew chief. DeHart resigned as Terry Labonte's head man a few weeks ago after a confrontation with one of the team members. As it is, co-owners Eddie Wood and Len Wood share crew-chief duties on race day for the car driven by Michael Waltrip. DeHart also has been mentioned as a top candidate for next year's Dale Earnhardt-owned car to be driven by Steve Park. (Skip Wood, Times-Dispatch) ===== An (official) announcement is expected later this week in Phoenix that Penske Racing will hook up Michael Kranefuss, replacing Kranefuss partner Carl Haas. (S. Wood) ===== Mathematically, Jeff Gordon CANNOT clinch the NASCAR Winston Cup Series title this weekend. However, if he can finish sixth or better in each of the three remaining races he will claim his second championship, regardless of what other drivers do.

If Gordon finishes 32nd or worse (without leading any laps) and Mark Martin wins the race on Sunday, Martin could leave the event with the point lead. Mathematically, there is also a way that Dale Jarrett could take over the point lead this weekend as well. (NASCAR Online) ===== Dale Jarrett is the hottest driver over the last six races. He has a 7.66 average finish, posting two victories and four top-10s over the period. He has outscored his closest competitor, Jeff Burton, by 10 points, and Jeff Gordon by 13 points. (NASCAR Online) ===== Southeastern Leasing, a Charlotte, N.C.-based company that leases custom truck equipment, donated a tandem axle tractor to the Motor Racing Outreach (MRO), a non-denominational ministry serving the racing community, to haul a new Family Center trailer for the 1998 racing season. The 51-foot trailer that will be hauled by the new truck will house a classroom, recreational facilities as well as meeting and counseling rooms. (NASCAR Online) ===== Randy LaJoie became the third driver in NASCAR Busch Series history to win back-to-back driver championships. LaJoie didn't have the best car (in the AC Delco 200), but after Todd Bodine wrecked and left the race, LaJoie's 20th-place finish was enough for the clincher (to the championship). (NASCAR Online) ===== Butch Gilliland, who has tasted victory 4 times this season on the Winston West circuit, will compete in the Dura-Lube 500 at the Phoenix International Raceway, on November 2. Gilliland, who has put his car on the pole 3 times so far this year, has absolutely nothing to worry about this time out! NASCAR has provided one provisional starting spot for Winston West competitors. Gilliland, by virtue of being the NASCAR Winston West points leader, will have a guaranteed spot in the show, regardless of qualifying time.(Winston West)/Jayski ===== Union 76/Rockingham World Championship Pit Crew Chammpionship (Oct 25) results:

(if you want times, look here)

Bill Elliott Terry Labonte Bobby Labonte Derrike Cope Jimmy Spencer John Andretti Ted Musgrave Robert Pressley Dale Jarrett Chad Little Jeff Gordon Ward Burton Greg Sacks Wally Dallenbach Jr Mark Martin Rick Mast Rusty Wallace Ken Schrader Ricky Rudd Hut Stricklin Ernie Irvan Johnny Benson Dick Trickle Lake Speed Steve Grissom Dale Earnhardt Kyle Petty Jeff Burton Jeremy Mayfield Mike Skinner Morgan Shepherd Bobby Hamilton Joe Nemechek Sterling Marlin Michael Waltrip Ricky Craven Darrell Waltrip (NASCAR Online) ===== Mike Irwin ( NASCAR Fans _______________________________________

NASCAR Fans Website _______________________________________

To subscribe/unsubscribe to the E-mail List send mail to ( subject line: subscribe or subject line: unsubscribe ________________________________________

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup