Tony Stewart announces 2011 Stewie Awards press release

NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion Tony Stewart Announces 2011 ‘Stewie Award’ Winners on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

Three-time champion and his co-host, Matt Yocum, awarded the trophies last night during a live broadcast from Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas

Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet
Tony Stewart, Stewart-Haas Racing Chevrolet

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

The show will be rebroadcast this weekend and in the weeks ahead

Video highlights from event can be found at

NEW YORK – December 2, 2011 – Winners of the fifth annual ‘Stewie Awards’ were announced last night by 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Champion Tony Stewart live on Sirius XM Radio and in front of a studio audience at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

The ‘Stewie Award’ winners were decided by fans who voted for the best, boldest and funniest moments of the NASCAR season. Listeners around the country tuned in to experience the event live on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90 on Sirius and XM Premier (formerly known as “The Best of Sirius”).

‘The Stewies’ will be rebroadcast on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio several times over the coming weeks, including this Saturday, Dec. 3 (3:00 pm ET) and Sunday, Dec. 4 (6:00 pm ET).

Guests on last night's program included: NASCAR President Mike Helton, Carl Edwards, Jimmie Johnson, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Gordon, auto racing legends A.J. Foyt and Leonard Wood, and celebrities Jerry Springer and Robin Leach.

The winners of the 2011 ‘Stewie Awards’ are:

Best Original Drama – For the year’s most dramatic moment or sequence.

Tony Stewart overcomes pit road issues, debris damage, a lengthy red flag and down-to-the-wire challenge from Carl Edwards to win season finale Ford 400 at Homestead. Smoke has to climb his way to the front of the field twice and he and Edwards trade lead several times. The 1-2 finish leaves them tied in points but tie-breaker, and championship, goes to Stewart.

Bonehead Move of the Year Award

JJ Yeley pushes Matt Kenseth when #17 runs out of gas at Geico 400 at Chicagoland but, since it is illegal to receive assistance on final lap, Kenseth is dropped from 8th to 21st place finish.

“Feels Like The First Time” Award – For the most notable “first” of the NASCAR season.

On the day after his 20th birthday, Trevor Bayne wins Daytona 500 in his second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start.

Best Vocal Performance – For the year’s most memorable quote.

Pastor Joe Nelms of Family Baptist Church in Lebanon, TN, channels his inner “Ricky Bobby” during the pre-race invocation for the Federated Auto Parts 300 at Nashville.

Best “Driver2Crew Chatter” –

The #88 crew helps Dale Earnhardt Jr. mark his pit stall in the STP 400 at Kansas.

Best Original Comedy – For the year’s most entertaining “incident.”

Thinking Greg Biffle was racing dirty in the Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen, Boris Said requests a “meeting” with “The Biff” after the race. In the ensuing encounter, Biffle takes a swing at Said and Said answers back with verbal TKO.

Hal Needham Award (Best Stunt Sequence) – For the year’s most remarkable crash.

At the Heluva Good! Sour Cream Dips at the Glen, David Ragan hits wall at 100 mph. Ragan then hits David Reutimann who cartwheels into Turn 2 fence. Everyone emerges safely.

‘Boys, Have At It” Award – For the year’s most memorable on- or off-track bumping and/or dumping.

Nearing the checkered flag in the Good Sam Club 500 at Talladega, Jeff Gordon gets dumped by his tandem draft partner, Trevor Bayne, for another Ford driver. Gordon goes from being a contender to win to finishing 27th, 12 spots behind Bayne.

The Social Stewie Award – For the year’s best social media quote.

Matt Kenseth via Twitter after his wife’s “Better Half Dash” practice injury. @matt_kenseth17: “Katie is feeling pretty good today, and I got to learn something new…how to put a bra ON!”

“Stewie” Lifetime Achievement Award – Chosen by Stewart and Yocum, this award was presented to Leonard Wood.

Stewart won his third NASCAR Sprint Cup Series title after a remarkable postseason run that saw him win five of the 10 races in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. His down-to-the-wire battle with Carl Edwards created one of the most exciting finishes in NASCAR history, as Stewart overcame early-race troubles and held off Edwards to win the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway and claim the crown. In just his third year as a driver/owner with Stewart-Haas Racing, Stewart becomes the first driver/owner to win a championship since Alan Kulwicki did it in 1992. He was the last driver to win the championship before Jimmie Johnson went on his historic five year title run.

SiriusXM is the Official Satellite Radio Partner of NASCAR, broadcasting every NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR Nationwide Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race live on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio, channel 90, the only radio channel dedicated to NASCAR 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Jeff Gordon , Matt Kenseth , Tony Stewart , Boris Said , Greg Biffle , Jimmie Johnson , Trevor Bayne , David Reutimann , Carl Edwards , Mike Helton , David Ragan , A.J. Foyt , Alan Kulwicki
Teams Stewart-Haas Racing
Tags award, stewart, stewie