Michigan: Goodyear Racing race report

Event: NASCAR Nextel Cup Series Citizens Bank 400 (Race No. 15 of 36) Mich. Weather: Sunny and hot Winner: Carl Edwards, driver of the ...

Event: NASCAR Nextel Cup Series Citizens Bank 400 (Race No. 15 of 36)


Weather: Sunny and hot

Winner: Carl Edwards, driver of the #99 Ford from Roush-Fenway Racing

Top-five finishers: Edwards, Martin Truex Jr., Tony Stewart, Casey Mears and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Race recap: Carl Edwards outdueled Martin Truex Jr. to win the NASCAR Nextel Cup Series race at Michigan International Speedway on Sunday. It broke a long dry spell for the Roush-Fenway team driver, marking his first victory in 52 races dating back to November 2005.

Edwards had to overcome an early race penalty for speeding on pit road which knocked the driver outside the top 25 at the time. He came back to control the latter stages of the event though a series of green-flag pit stops that scrambled the field. He wound up outdistancing Truex to the finish line by 3.668 seconds. Edwards averaged 148.072 mph in the race that saw 22 lead changes among 11 drivers and four cautions for 16 laps.

Goodyear quote -- Rick Heinrich, product manager: "Our Goodyear Eagles and Wranglers had a great weekend at Michigan. Both events were run with plenty of side-by-side racing and a host of lead changes. This was a tire combination that we will use many times this season, mainly on the one-and-a-half mile and two-mile speedways, so we look for more of the same great performance down the road."

Jeff Gordon held onto his championship lead, though second place now is held by Denny Hamlin who is behind by 264 points, followed by Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth and Jeff Burton.

The Nextel Cup circuit is back in action at the first road course of the season at Infineon Raceway in northern California next Sunday.


Other NASCAR racing:

Companion event: Travis Kvapil passed Kyle Busch with one lap to go to win the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race at Michigan on Saturday afternoon. It was Kvapil's first truck series victory since 2004. Mike Skinner leads the championship standings by 113 points over Ron Hornaday Jr.

The Busch Series action took place at the 1.5-mile Kentucky Speedway, near Sparta, on Saturday where Stephen Leicht took the win. Rounding out the top-five finishers in the 200-lap event were Brad Coleman, Scott Wimmer, David Stremme and Shane Huffman.

There were nine cautions for 27 laps and 12 lead changes among eight drivers.

Carl Edwards leads the Busch Series championship points standings, with Dave Blaney trailing by 701 points.

-credit: goodyear racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Jeff Burton , Jeff Gordon , Matt Kenseth , Tony Stewart , Casey Mears , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Scott Wimmer , Martin Truex Jr. , Carl Edwards , David Stremme , Denny Hamlin , Dave Blaney , Stephen Leicht , Shane Huffman , Kyle Busch , Travis Kvapil