Indianapolis: Jamie McMurray preview

Texaco/Havoline Racing Fast Facts: * Chassis ...

Texaco/Havoline Racing Fast Facts:

* Chassis #307: Crew Chief Donnie Wingo and the Texaco/Havoline team are bringing chassis #307 to compete in the Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. In four starts in 2004, chassis #307 has posted one top-five and two top-10 finishes. McMurray last ran chassis #307 at Chicagoland Speedway. Chassis #307 is the same car McMurray and the Texaco/Havoline team raced to a third-place finish with last year in the Brickyard 400.

* McMurray Notes: McMurray heads into Indy sitting 15th in NASCAR NEXTEL Cup points, 133 points out of the NASCAR Top 10. The Joplin, Mo. native has posted four top-five and 10 top-10 finishes through the first 20 races of the 2004 season. McMurray qualified 22nd and finished third in his first race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway last year (8/3/03).

* McMurray and the Texaco/Havoline team spent two days testing Chassis #307 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway last month in preparation for Sunday's Brickyard 400.

* The Indianapolis Motor Speedway is hallowed ground for car owner Chip Ganassi. Ganassi has two victories as a car owner in the Indy 500 (Emerson Fittapaldi -- 1989; Juan Montoya -- 2000).

Jamie McMurray Quotes:

Indy Thoughts: "I'm really looking forward to Indy this weekend. We had an awesome test there a few weeks back, and we're bringing the same car that we finished third with in the Brickyard 400 last year."

"Do I feel like Indy owes us one after last year? There's probably a little part of me that feels that way. I mean, there at the end of last year's race, the Texaco/Havoline Dodge had pulled out to a comfortable lead and then the caution flag waved. I got held up on the outside line on the restart, and we ended up finishing third. That was definitely hard to take. But I really feel like we're heading back to Indy this year with a stronger car and a really good shot at the victory."

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Jamie McMurray , Chip Ganassi