Indianapolis: Goodyear Racing race report

Event: NASCAR Nextel Cup Series Allstate 400 At The Brickyard (Race No. 20 of 36) Ind. Weather: Sunny and hot Winner: Tony Stewart, driver of the ...

Event: NASCAR Nextel Cup Series Allstate 400 At The Brickyard (Race No. 20 of 36)


Weather: Sunny and hot

Winner: Tony Stewart, driver of the #20 Chevrolet from Joe Gibbs Racing

Top-five finishers: Stewart, Juan Pablo Montoya, Jeff Gordon, Kyle Busch and Reed Sorenson

Race recap: Tony Stewart led twice as many laps as his nearest competitor and won his second Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Sunday. Stewart, also the winner in 2005, paced the field for 65 of 160 laps around the famed speedway, including the final 10.

Stewart looked to be in control of the race when he took the lead from Kyle Busch on lap 129. A yellow flag flew eight laps later for oil on the track and Stewart's car seemed slow on restarts. He did, indeed, lose the lead to Kevin Harvick shortly after the race went back under the green flag and then began to battle back. It took Stewart 10 laps to regain the top spot, but once he did he cruised home to a 2.982-second victory over second-place Juan Pablo Montoya.

Overall there were 14 lead changes among six drivers and nine cautions for a total of 43 laps.

Jeff Gordon, who finished Sunday's race in third, extended his championship lead to 371 points over Denny Hamlin.

Goodyear quote -- Greg Stucker: "Tire performance at Sunday's Brickyard 400 was very much what we expected. We introduced new constructions for both the left- and right-side tires, and the combination provided a very comfortable package for the teams. The abrasive surface of the speedway, created by the diamond grinding, made for quite heavy treadwear early in the race, but was fine once some rubber was laid down."

The Nextel Cup Series is right back in action at Pocono Raceway next Sunday.


Other NASCAR races at nearby O'Reilly Raceway Park: After a long rain-delayed start on Friday night, the Craftsman Truck Series finally produced a winner at the .686-mile oval. Ron Hornady netted his 32nd series victory and the second at this track. After leading three times for a race-high 90 laps, Hornady crossed the line .350-seconds ahead of Johnny Benson. The winner averaged 76.438 mph in the race that saw seven lead changes among five drivers and nine cautions for 49 laps.

Saturday night's action at ORP in the Busch Series contest ended with Jason Leffler winning after leading just the final three laps. He crossed the line 1.009 seconds ahead of Greg Biffle, who led a race-high 94 of the 200 laps. Leffler averaged 80.143 mph in the race with eight cautions for 36 laps and 10 lead changes among eight drivers. Rounding out the top five were David Reutimann, Carl Edwards and Ron Hornady. Edwards leads the driver championship points, followed by Reutimann and Leffler.

-credit: goodyear

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Juan Pablo Montoya
Teams Joe Gibbs Racing