Ford Racing NASCAR historical notes on Talladega

A look back at some on-track history at NASCAR's biggest oval

The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series heads to the high banks of Talladega Superspeedway this weekend. Here are some reflections on Ford's participation over the years:

--Joey Logano’s three wins with Ford give him the same total of NASCAR Sprint Cup Series wins as Dale Earnhardt, Parnelli Jones, Tiny Lund and Speedy Thompson had with the Blue Oval during their careers.

--The late Davey Allison registered the first win of his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series career at Talladega Superspeedway when he won the Winston 500 on May 3, 1987. Allison went on to win 19 NSCS races, including three at Talladega.

--David Ragan became the 11th driver to win a NASCAR Nationwide and NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway when he took the checkered flag in last year’s Aaron’s 499. The win was his second series victory and first for Front Row Motorsports. Ragan’s first NASCAR win came at Talladega in 2009 when he won the Aaron’s 312 for car owner Jack Roush in the Nationwide series.

--When Dale Jarrett won the UAW-Ford 500 on Oct. 2, 2005 at Talladega Superspeedway it ended up being the final trip to victory lane for Robert Yates Racing. The organization ended up winning 57 times in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and had one championship with Jarrett in 1999.

--Buddy Baker won Ford’s first NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway…and the second…and the third…in consecutive fashion. Baker, who was driving for NASCAR Hall of Famer Bud Moore, swept both races in 1975 and won the first event there in 1976.

--Former two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Terry Labonte won two races with Ford and car owner Junior Johnson in 1989 and one of those came at Talladega Superspeedway on July 30, 1989. The other came at Pocono one month earlier.

--NASCAR Hall of Famers Bud Moore and Glen Wood are Ford’s winningest car owners at Talladega Superspeedway in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series with five wins apiece. Moore won three times with Buddy Baker (1975-76) and once each with Bobby Allison (1979) and Dale Earnhardt (1983) under the Blue Oval while Wood took the checkered flag five times in a Mercury with David Pearson three times (1972,’73,’74) and Donnie Allison (1971) and Neil Bonnett (1980) once.

Ford Racing

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Dale Jarrett , Terry Labonte , Parnelli Jones , Junior Johnson , Bobby Allison , Donnie Allison , Jack Roush , Robert Yates , David Ragan , Buddy Baker , Joey Logano , David Pearson , Tiny Lund , Davey Allison
Teams Front Row Motorsports , Yates Racing
Article type Preview
Tags buddy baker, ford, joey logano, junior johnson, nascar, richard petty, sprint cup, talladega, terry labonte