Dover II: Series contingency awards

Johnson, No. 48 Team Capitalize On Dover Win With Four Contingency Awards Hendrick Motorsports Collects 10th MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder Of The Race Award CHARLOTTE, N.C. (Sept. 28, 2010) -- Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 Lowe's/KOBALT Tools ...

Johnson, No. 48 Team Capitalize On Dover Win With Four Contingency Awards
Hendrick Motorsports Collects 10th MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder Of The Race Award

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (Sept. 28, 2010) -- Jimmie Johnson and the No. 48 Lowe's/KOBALT Tools Chevrolet team turned in an impressive performance in this past Sunday's AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway, taking their sixth win of the seasonand fourpost-race contingency awards.

Johnson, who started the race on the Coors Light Pole, manhandled the "Monster Mile" Sunday crossing the finish line ahead of Jeff Burton by a commanding 2.637 seconds to claim the checkered flag and his 53rd career victory. In the process, four-time defending series champion Johnson reasserted himself into the thick of title contention, jumping from seventh to second in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup standings.

With strong, reliable horsepower, the No. 48 earned Hendrick Motorsports its 10th MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Race Award of the season, given weekly based on points awarded for qualifying, finishing position and bonus points for laps led. The No. 48 team currently leads the overall standings for the MAHLE Clevite Engine Builder of the Year Award by 12 points over the No. 29 Richard Childress Racing team.

Adding to these awards, Johnson captured the Goodyear Gatorback Fastest Lap of the Race Award for turning the quickest lap of the event while leading (124.344 mph, Lap 2). As the race winner, Johnson also racked up his sixth Sunoco Diamond Performance Award of the Year as the highest finishing eligible driver.

The awards are part of the NASCAR Prize Money and Decal Program, also referred to as the Contingency Program, which provide teams prize money and weekly awards based on performance in several categories.

"Obviously, it was the weekend we would dream of ... winning the pole and winning the race," said Johnson post-race. "We had a great car. I think it's going to be as exciting of a Chase as everyone is hoping for. Regardless of where we end up, I know this 48 team is all in and we're going to give it a 100 percent."

"We appreciate our relationship with MAHLE Clevite and their support of this award," said Jeff Andrews, director of engine operations for Hendrick Motorsports. "The competition right now is extremely tough, and the entire Hendrick Motorsports engine group has worked hard throughout the summer to produce a great product for our teams. We have more than 100 people in our department, and each of them plays a key role in what happens on the race track every weekend across the NASCAR Sprint Cup and NASCAR Nationwide series. Their efforts paid off in Dover with the Lowe's team, and we look forward to building on that performance throughout the rest of the Chase races."

Heading into this weekend's Price Chopper 400 Presented by Kraft Foods at Kansas Speedway (ESPN, 1 p.m. ET), Johnson sits just a mere 35 points behind leader Denny Hamlin, clearly putting the No. 48 team in prime position to compete for a fifth title.

"From the foundation of the team, we work hard making sure we have guys that work at Hendrick Motorsports and within the 48 team that are kind of self-motivators, guys that basically want to go out there and do the best they can and try to win every single race," crew chief Chad Knaus said. "With Kansas being very similar to Chicago, we're looking forward to it. I think the performance we had in Atlanta was definitely a direction that you can see where we're headed toward going into Fontana, Charlotte and Homestead."

Official winners of this week's NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Prize Money & Decal Program special awards include:

* COORS LIGHT POLE AWARD: Jimmie Johnson (155.736 mph, 23.116 secs.)

* DIRECTV CREW CHIEF OF THE RACE AWARD: Mike Shiplett (crew chief for AJ Allmendinger)

* GOODYEAR GATORBACK BELTS FASTEST LAP AWARD: Jimmie Johnson (153.866 mph, Lap 2)

* MAHLE CLEVITE ENGINE BUILDER OF THE RACE AWARD: Hendrick Motorsports (engine builder for Jimmie Johnson, No. 48)


* MOOG CHASSIS PARTS PROBLEM SOLVER OF THE RACE AWARD: Todd Berrier (crew chief for Jeff Burton)




* TISSOT "PIT ROAD PRECISION" AWARD: Kyle Busch (254.478 secs)

* WIX FILTERS LAP LEADER AWARD: AJ Allmendinger (143 Laps)

-source: nascar

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Jeff Burton , Kurt Busch , Jimmie Johnson , Kevin Conway , Denny Hamlin , Chad Knaus , Kyle Busch
Teams Richard Childress Racing , Hendrick Motorsports