Dale Jr. named NASCAR Most Popular Driver for 13th straight year

Surprise! For the 13th consecutive year, Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the Most Popular Driver (MPD) award in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series.

Dale Jr. has held the title of 'Most Popular Driver' since 2003 and it doesn't look like Jr. Nation is going to let any other driver take the honor any time soon.

"You just never expect to win this award until you're name is called," said the driver of the No. 88 Chevrolet at the annual NASCAR Sprint Cup awards banquet in Las Vegas on Friday night.

"This award, this is for Jr Nation. "Thanks for the votes and we'll see you next year."

Earnhardt's streak of 13 straight MPD awards may be unprecedented, but he still has a ways to go to top Bill Elliott, who held that same title in 16 different years. His son Chase, who will take over the No. 24 Sprint Cup ride from Jeff Gordon in 2016, earned the Most Popular Driver award for the second consecutive year on the Xfinity side this season.

"I never take it for granted. There was that one time during the year I thought Matt Kenseth had it wrapped up. Y'all saw the grandstands at Martinsville! I'm sorry Joey (Logano), that was mean."

The Hendrick Motorsports driver ended the 2015 season 12th in the championship standings, collecting three race wins along the way.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Event Champions Week
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Article type Breaking news