Countdown to the Daytona Shootout: History

14 Days until the Budweiser Shootout: History and Format (Saturday, Jan. 24, 2004) -- No driver knew how to win at Daytona International Speedway quite like Dale Earnhardt, so it should come to no surprise that "The Intimidator" won more...

14 Days until the Budweiser Shootout: History and Format

(Saturday, Jan. 24, 2004) -- No driver knew how to win at Daytona International Speedway quite like Dale Earnhardt, so it should come to no surprise that "The Intimidator" won more Budweiser Shootouts than any other driver. In fact, it's not even close.

The Budweiser Shootout (formerly named the Busch Clash from 1979-97 and the Bud Shootout from 1998-2000) pits Bud Pole winners from the previous year and former Shootout champions against each other in a 70-lap all-star race. Earnhardt won the race six times (1980, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1995). The only other drivers that can boast multiple wins are Dale Jarrett, Tony Stewart, Jeff Gordon, Ken Schrader, and Neil Bonnett, each with two victories apiece.

Fourteen days from now, Jarrett, Stewart, Gordon and Schrader will have another shot at chipping into Earnhardt's record, but it won't be easy. Of the 22 eligible drivers, 10 of them have Shootout wins to their resume. That number doesn't include legitimate contenders such as Jimmie Johnson and Ryan Newman.

None of Earnhardt's victories were back-to-back, meaning the 2004 Budweiser Shootout will give Dale Earnhardt Jr. a chance to do something his father couldn't do -- win the race in consecutive years. Junior and the No. 8 Budweiser team rallied from the back of the pack to hold off Gordon, Matt Kenseth and Newman in the 2003 event. Should he win in '04, Dale Jr. will join Bonnett, Schrader and Stewart as the only drivers with consecutive Shootout victories.

2003 -- Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Avg. speed: 180.827 mph; runner-up Jeff Gordon)
2002 -- Tony Stewart (Avg. speed: 181.295 mph; runner-up Dale Earnhardt Jr.)
2001 -- Tony Stewart (Avg. speed: 181.036 mph; runner-up Dale Earnhardt)
2000 -- Dale Jarrett (Avg. speed: 182.334 mph; runner-up Jeff Gordon)
1999 -- Mark Martin (Avg. speed: 181.745 mph; runner-up Ken Schrader)
1998 -- Rusty Wallace (Avg. speed: 178.998 mph; runner-up Kenny Wallace)
1997 -- Jeff Gordon (Avg. speed: 185.376 mph; runner-up Rusty Wallace)
1996 -- Dale Jarrett (Avg. speed: 184.995 mph; runner-up Sterling Marlin)
1995 -- Dale Earnhardt (Avg. speed: 188.877 mph; runner-up Sterling Marlin)
1994 -- Jeff Gordon (Avg. speed: 188.877 mph; runner-up Brett Bodine)
1993 -- Dale Earnhardt (Avg. speed 186.916 mph; runner-up Ken Schrader)
1992 -- Geoffrey Bodine (Avg. speed 189.070 mph; runner-up Ernie Irvan)
1991 -- Dale Earnhardt (Avg. speed 189.474 mph; runner-up Mark Martin)
1990 -- Ken Schrader (Avg. speed 192.308 mph; runner-up Greg Sacks)
1989 -- Ken Schrader (Avg. speed 192.926 mph; runner-up Davey Allison)
1988 -- Dale Earnhardt (Avg. speed 191.489 mph; runner-up Davey Allison)
1987 -- Bill Elliott (Avg. speed 197.802 mph; runner-up Geoffrey Bodine)
1986 -- Dale Earnhardt (Avg. speed 195.865 mph; runner-up Bill Elliott)
1985 -- Terry Labonte (Avg. speed 195.865 mph; runner-up Darrell Waltrip)
1984 -- Neil Bonnett (Avg. speed 192.926 mph; runner-up Cale Yarborough)
1983 -- Neil Bonnett (Avg. speed 192.513 mph; runner-up Darrell Waltrip)
1982 -- Bobby Allison (Avg. speed 191.093 mph; runner-up Terry Labonte)
1981 -- Darrell Waltrip (Avg. speed 189.076 mph; runner-up Benny Parsons)
1980 -- Dale Earnhardt (Avg. speed 191.693 mph; runner-up Neil Bonnett)
1979 -- Buddy Baker (Avg. speed 194.384 mph; runner-up Darrell Waltrip)

SHOOTOUT FORMAT: The Budweiser Shootout is 70 laps divided into two segments. The first segment will consist of 20 laps, followed by a 10-minute intermission. Teams may make pit stops and do other work that transpires during a normal pit stop during this time. The second segment will be 50 laps and must end in a green-white-checkered finish. Caution laps will count toward the total in both segments, so the second segment may extend beyond the scheduled 70-lap total. In the event of a red flag, crews will be permitted to work on the cars; however, all work must be performed on pit road or in the garage. When the race is resumed, all cars must immediately be ready to return to competition. All re-starts will be double-file re-starts. All lapped cars will re-start at the rear of the field.

The 26th running of the Budweiser Shootout is scheduled for Sat., Feb. 7. It can be seen live on TNT at 8 p.m. ET. For race tickets, call 1-800-PITSHOP.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Brett Bodine , Bill Elliott , Jeff Gordon , Ernie Irvan , Dale Jarrett , Darrell Waltrip , Matt Kenseth , Terry Labonte , Tony Stewart , Rusty Wallace , Geoffrey Bodine , Ken Schrader , Kenny Wallace , Sterling Marlin , Ryan Newman , Jimmie Johnson , Benny Parsons , Bobby Allison , Greg Sacks , Buddy Baker , Cale Yarborough , Mark Martin , Davey Allison