Comcast and NASCAR to unveil new award honoring charitable efforts

The new award will honor one individual from each of the three national divisions of NASCAR.

Comcast and NASCAR will unveil a new annual award on Wednesday which will honor philanthropic efforts by race team employees in all three of NASCAR’s national series – Sprint Cup, Xfinity and Camping World Trucks.

Each season beginning this year, an individual from each national series will be honored, with one of the three being named the Comcast Community Champion of the Year.

The winner will have a donation of $60,000 made in their name to their affiliated charitable organization. A $30,000 contribution will also be made to the remaining finalists’ charitable organizations.

Nominations can be submitted by NASCAR team members. Eligible recipients include team owners, drivers and all employees of Cup, Xfinity and Truck series teams.

Nominees will be narrowed down to three finalists (one in each series), with a panel of judges comprised of executives from Comcast, The NASCAR Foundation, a former NASCAR driver and a national motorsports media member, to determine the recipient of the overall award.

The award will be presented at the annual end-of-the-season Xfinity and Truck series’ banquet, which is typically held in South Florida.

Comcast’s Xfinity brand is the title sponsor of the NASCAR Xfinity Series and NBCUniversal is currently signed on as a NASCAR broadcast partner through the 2024 season.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Article type Breaking news
Tags comcast