BUSCH: Test dates set at Las Vegas

Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr. among NASCAR stars testing Jan. 28-31 at LVMS LAS VEGAS& ...

Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr. among NASCAR stars testing Jan. 28-31 at LVMS

LAS VEGAS– Four-time NASCAR Winston Cup champion Jeff Gordon heads a list of NASCAR’s biggest stars who are scheduled to attend Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s annual“ Test in the West” Jan. 28-31.

Gordon, who won this past year’s UAW-DaimlerChrysler 400 and the $1 million Winston No Bull 5 bonus, will be among 32 NASCAR Winston Cup drivers and 17 NASCAR Busch Series drivers slated to test over the four-day period in preparation for the March 3 UAW-DaimlerChrysler 400 and the March 2 Sam’s Town 300. Each team is allowed to test on two of those days.

The testing will run daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. It is open to the public free of charge.

All five of this year’s No Bull 5 competitors, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Tony Stewart, Jeff Burton, Matt Kenseth and Bobby Hamilton, will take part in the test. Burton is a two-time winner at LVMS and captured Winston’s bonus money in 2000.

Other notable stars scheduled to test include 2000 NASCAR Winston Cup champion Bobby Labonte, 1999 NASCAR Winston Cup champion Dale Jarrett, 1998 Las Vegas 400 winner Mark Martin, 2001 NASCAR Winston Cup Rookie of the Year Kevin Harvick and Las Vegans Kurt Busch and Brendan Gaughan.

Greg Biffle, whom many consider the favorite to win this year’s NASCAR Busch Series title, headlines the group of Busch drivers. Racing legacies Kerry Earnhardt and Casey Mears also are slated to test their Busch rides.

Following is a list of drivers and the days they are scheduled to test.

Jan. 28
Winston Cup: Elliott Sadler, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Derrike Cope, Dale Jarrett, Bobby Hamilton, Jeremy Mayfield, Brett Bodine, Mark Martin, Matt Kenseth, Jeff Burton, Kurt Busch.

Busch Series: Tony Raines, Chad Little.

Jan. 29
Winston Cup: Sadler, Dave Blaney, Ryan Newman, J. Gordon, Johnson, Ken Schrader, Cope, Jarrett, Joe Nemechek, Todd Bodine, Hamilton, Mayfield, B. Bodine, Tony Stewart, Bobby Labonte, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, Mike Skinner, Martin, Kenseth, Burton, Busch, Hut Stricklin, Kyle Petty, Buckshot Jones, Michael Waltrip, Robby Gordon.

Busch Series: Jeff Purvis, Raines, Mike McLaughlin, Jimmy Spencer, Johnny Sauter, Jeff Green, Little, Kerry Earnhardt.

Jan. 30
Winston Cup: Spencer, Blaney, Newman, Schrader, Johnny Benson, Jerry Nadeau, Terry Labonte, Nemechek, T. Bodine, Stewart, B. Labonte, R. Gordon, Harvick, Skinner, Stricklin, Petty, Jones, Earnhardt Jr., Waltrip, Brendan Gaughan.

Busch Series: Purvis, Nemechek, Hank Parker Jr., McLaughlin, Spencer, Dan Pardus, Sauter, Green, Greg Biffle, K. Earnhardt, Larry Foyt, J. Burton, Casey Mears, Brian Vickers.

Jan. 31
Winston Cup: Spencer, Benson, Nadeau, T. Labonte, Gaughan.

Busch Series: Nemechek, Parker Jr., Pardus, Biffle, Foyt, J. Burton, Mears, Vickers.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Brett Bodine , Jeff Burton , Derrike Cope , Jeff Gordon , Bobby Hamilton , Dale Jarrett , Matt Kenseth , Bobby Labonte , Terry Labonte , Jeremy Mayfield , Tony Stewart , Michael Waltrip , Todd Bodine , Mike Skinner , Kyle Petty , Ken Schrader , Jimmy Spencer , Kevin Harvick , Joe Nemechek , Greg Biffle , Jeff Green , Hank Parker Jr. , Jerry Nadeau , Buckshot Jones , Kurt Busch , Ryan Newman , Hut Stricklin , Casey Mears , Larry Foyt , Tony Raines , Chad Little , Jeff Purvis , Kerry Earnhardt , Johnny Sauter , Brendan Gaughan , Brian Vickers , Elliott Sadler , Dave Blaney , Mark Martin