BUSCH: National Pit Crew Championship news 2005-04-15

Field of Competitors Nearly Set for "National Pit Crew Championship Powered by Tyson" Motorsports Best Pit Crews Ready to Go Head-to-Head on May 9, 2005 Mooresville, NC (April 15, 2005) - Tyson Foods and the Crew Chief Club0x00ae announce that...

Field of Competitors Nearly Set for "National Pit Crew Championship Powered by Tyson"
Motorsports Best Pit Crews Ready to Go Head-to-Head on May 9, 2005

Mooresville, NC (April 15, 2005) - Tyson Foods and the Crew Chief Club0x00ae announce that Dale Earnhardt, Inc.; Penske Racing South; Joe Gibbs Racing; Roush Racing; Evernham Motorsports; Richard Childress Racing; Robert Yates Racing; Chip Ganassi Racing; MBV Motorsports; MB2 Motosports; Petty Enterprises; Bill Davis Racing; PPI Motorsports and BAM Racing teams will participate at the National Pit Crew Championship Powered by Tyson on May 9, 2005 at Pit Instruction and Training (PIT) facility in Mooresville, North Carolina from 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m.

Teams are still eligible to enter the competition, and have the chance to register until April 17. The final field of participating pit crews will be determined this weekend at the conclusion of the race in Texas.

"Cup and Busch teams submitted registrations forms signed by each team member and the team's owner. These teams will be required, for the purpose of seeding, to participate in one practice round with three chances on a single car, where the fastest time will be used for staging the competition," said Larry McReynolds, FOX Sports television analyst and legendary crew chief. "We are thrilled to have high-profile teams supporting our event and recognizing the intrinsic role pit crews play in motorsports."

The National Pit Crew Championship Powered by Tyson, created by the Crew Chief Club and Tyson Foods, is a bracketed challenge where pit crews go head-to-head for the fastest pit stop. Teams will compete based on the actual skills they use on race day, allowing their performance to stand apart from the drivers' for just one day. The event gives the teams the chance to win $100,000, with only four teams having the chance at a $500,000 prize in the final bonus round, "The Powered by Tyson Pit Stop." The competition will be televised on the SPEED Channel on August 6, 2005 at 8:00 p.m.J "This event is going to be challenging and we are going for it all the way, from the practice round to the competition," said Brit Goodrich, jack man for the No. 12 Penske Racing Dodge. "We are thrilled to be participating in an event where fans can watch us do what we do best."

On May 9th fans will have the chance to experience racing in a different way by witnessing their favorite pit crews be the heroes. Tickets for the event are free, and can be picked up in advance at PIT on 156 Byers Creek Road in Mooresville; the Mooresville Convention & Visitors Bureau on 265 North Main Street in Mooresville; and the North Carolina Auto Racing Hall of Fame on 119 Knob Hill Road, Lakeside Park in Mooresville JWhile tickets are free, attendees are encouraged to make a monetary donation to benefit Second Harvest0x00ae and The Victory Junction Gang Camp. These can be accepted at all ticket locations. To make access in and out of the event easy, special parking lots will be designated with shuttles running continually on the day of the event.

Participating Teams

Cup Teams:
No. 8 and No. 15 Dale Earnhardt, Inc.
No. 2, No. 12 and No. 77 Penske Racing South
No. 11, No. 18 and No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
No. 6, No. 16, No. 17, No.97 and No. 99 Roush Racing
No. 9 and No. 19 Evernham Motorsports
No. 07, No. 29 and No. 31 Richard Childress Racing
No. 38 and No. 88 Roberts Yates Racing
No. 40, No. 41 and No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
No. 10 MBV Motorsports
No. 01 MB2 Motorsports
No. 43 and No. 45 Petty Enterprises
No. 22 Bill Davis Racing
No. 32 PPI Motorsports
No. 49 BAM Racing

Busch Teams:
No. 8 Dale Earnhardt, Inc.
No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
No. 60 Roush Racing
No. 2 and No. 21 Richard Childress Racing
No. 41 Chip Ganassi Racing
No. 22 PPC Racing

By April 22, 2005 the final field of competing pit crews will be set and released along with details of the $500,000 "Powered by Tyson Pit Stop."

For more information please visit www.pitcrewchampionship.com or www.tyson.com.

About Tyson Foods
Tyson Foods, Inc. [NYSE:TSN], founded in 1935 with headquarters in Springdale, Arkansas, is the world's largest processor and marketer of chicken, beef, and pork and the second-largest food company in the FORTUNE 500. The company produces a wide variety of protein-based and prepared food products, which are marketed under the "Powered by Tyson strategy. Tyson is the recognized market leader in the retail and foodservice markets it serves, providing products and service to customers throughout the U.S and more than 80 countries. Tyson has approximately 114,000 Team Members employed at 300 facilities and offices in 27 states and 22 countries.

About Crew Chief Club #Founded in 1998 by Jimmy Makar, Larry McReynolds, Todd Parrott and Robin Pemberton, the Crew Chief Club's goal is to provide recognition to the pit crews and race teams who work week in and week out in the sport of NASCAR and to provide fans with an insider's, up close look at their sport. Together with its marketing partners, Crew Chief Club members will be accessible to fans at races and special events, in the media and on the world wide web at www.crewchiefclub.com, prominently displaying their dedication to their drivers, their teams and their sport.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Chip Ganassi , Robert Yates
Teams Chip Ganassi Racing , Richard Childress Racing , Team Penske , Joe Gibbs Racing , Bill Davis Racing , Yates Racing