Both Waltrip Racing and Jack Roush announce 2013 sponsors at Chicagoland

Michael Waltrip Racing announced at Chicagoland Speedway on Friday that PEAK Motor Oil will join the organization’s lineup of sponsors in 2013, backing the No. 15 MWR Toyota driven by 2012 Chase for the Sprint Cup contender Clint Bowyer.

PEAK is set to be primary sponsor on the No. 15 for three races in each of the next three NASCAR Sprint Cup Series seasons. The 2013 races in which PEAK will serve as Bowyer’s primary sponsor include events at Talladega (Ala.) Superspeedway in May, Daytona (Fla.) International Speedway in July and at Chicagoland to kick off next year’s Chase for the Sprint Cup.

This sponsorship is really cool for me and right in my sweet spot.

Clint Bowyer

“This sponsorship is really cool for me and right in my sweet spot,” Bowyer said. “PEAK stepping back into Sprint Cup Racing is not only good for us at Michael Waltrip Racing, but a real tribute to their heritage, as well as NASCAR and its fans. They have a lot of cool things planned for the upcoming season that race fans will enjoy.”

Aside primary sponsorship in the No. 15 for select races over the next three years, PEAK will also be an associate sponsor on MWR’s other two Sprint Cup entries – the No. 56 Toyota driven by another 2012 Chase driver, Martin Truex Jr., and the No. 55 driven by car owner Michael Waltrip, Brian Vickers and Mark Martin.

“We’re excited about our partnership with Michael Waltrip Racing and hope that our products will help lead the entire Michael Waltrip Racing family to continued success out on the track.”

PEAK has a long history in NASCAR, serving as title sponsor of races throughout the 19990s and early 2000s and an early supporter of former driver Kyle Petty and NASCAR Hall of Famer Dale Earnhardt, according to a release from PEAK and MWR.

The MWR announcement wasn’t the only one made at Chicagoland Speedway on Friday. Roush Fenway Racing announced earlier in the day that the RFR Ford Ricky Stenhouse Jr. will drive in 2013 will be the No. 17 Matt Kenseth will vacate at the end of the season to head to Joe Gibbs Racing to drive the No. 20 Toyota currently driven by Joey Logano.

Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Jack Roush
Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Jack Roush

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

It will be an exciting transition for Ricky and the team next season,” car owner Jack Roush said. “We take great pride in driver development, and it is rewarding for all involved any time we are able to watch one of our young men grow and progress.”

Stenhouse currently drives the No. 6 Roush Fenway Racing Ford in the Nationwide Series where he is the reigning series champion and is only one point behind current Nationwide points leader Elliott Sadler in the championship standings.

Roush Fenway Racing also revealed that Best Buy, Fifth Third Bank and Zest will be sponsors on Stenhouse’s No. 17 next year.

“In this sport, having great partners is critical to our ability to field top-tier race teams, and we are thrilled that Best Buy, Fifth Third Bank, and Zest have had such success in our first year together that they are growing their programs for 2013,” Roush Fenway Racing President Steve Newmark said. “We’re privileged to have companies of that caliber and reputation as anchors on the No. 17 program and appreciate that each of them is very excited about the future with Roush Fenway.”

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Cup
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Matt Kenseth , Michael Waltrip , Kyle Petty , Martin Truex Jr. , Brian Vickers , Clint Bowyer , Jack Roush , Elliott Sadler , Ricky Stenhouse Jr. , Joey Logano , Mark Martin
Teams Roush Fenway Racing , Michael Waltrip Racing , Joe Gibbs Racing
Article type Special feature
Tags bowyer, featured, ford, nascar, roush, stenhouse, toyota, vincent, waltrip