MotoGP 2018

Silverstone gets new three-year deal to host MotoGP

Silverstone will retain its place on the MotoGP calendar for the 2018 season after signing a fresh three-year deal to be the home of the British motorcycle grand prix.

The Northamptonshire track’s place on next year’s schedule had been thrown into doubt when a draft calendar had been released with a ‘TBA’ next to the British round in September.

Although Silverstone has been a fixture on the MotoGP calendar since 2010, since 2015 it has been acted as a surrogate for the stillborn Circuit of Wales project that had signed a now-void five-year deal with series promoter Dorna.

This meant Silverstone required a fresh contract of its own to continue hosting the race, bringing former MotoGP venue Donington Park into the frame to replace it in case a new deal could not be struck.

But now it has been confirmed that Silverstone will remain on the calendar until at least the end of 2020, with next year’s event scheduled to take place on August 26.

“A lot of time and money has been invested in recent years to ensure MotoGP fans, teams and riders enjoy what Silverstone has to offer and we are delighted to have secured the contract to 2020," said Silverstone managing director Stuart Pringle. 

"Two wheel racing is as much a part of Silverstone’s heritage as four wheel racing and we are looking forward to welcoming the championship and its fans back to Silverstone next August."

Dorna CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta added: "Silverstone is an iconic British circuit, so naturally we are pleased to be able to continue racing at this track. 

"The United Kingdom is an important market for Dorna and has to remain on the MotoGP calendar, especially with the introduction of the British Talent Cup next year, which we hope will inspire the next generation of young British talent. 

"We look forward to giving fans more action over the British Grand Prix weekend and I’m sure fans will be as happy as we are that Silverstone remains on the calendar for the next three years.”

2018 MotoGP calendar:

March 18  Qatar
April 8  Termas de Rio Hondo 
April 22  Austin 
May 6  Jerez 
May 20  Le Mans 
June 3  Mugello 
June 17  Barcelona 
July 1  Assen 
July 15  Sachsenring 
August 5  Brno
August 12  Red Bull Ring 
August 26  Silverstone 
September 9  Misano
September 23  Aragon 
October 7  Buriram 
October 21  Motegi 
October 28  Phillip Island 
November 4  Sepang 
November 18  Valencia 
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP
Article type Breaking news
Topic MotoGP 2018