13 Sep
15 Sep
Event finished
20 Sep
22 Sep
Event finished
04 Oct
06 Oct
Event finished
18 Oct
20 Oct
Event finished
25 Oct
27 Oct
Event finished
01 Nov
03 Nov
Event finished

Sepang MotoGP: Pedrosa sets the early pace ahead of Lorenzo

Sepang MotoGP: Pedrosa sets the early pace ahead of Lorenzo
Oct 23, 2015, 3:15 AM

Honda's Dani Pedrosa led the opening practice session at Sepang International circuit for the Malaysian GP, ahead of title contender Jorge Lorenzo and Marc Marquez.

Pedrosa was the early pacesetter with a time of 2m00.412s, set on his third lap, and that was enough to keep him top as none of his rivals were able to beat him over the remainder of the 45-minute session.

Initially, it was a Honda 1-2 at the top of the table with Pedrosa's teammate Marquez slotting into second with a 2m00.736s ahead of the Yamahas of title rivals Lorenzo and Valentino Rossi.

The track was quite dirty, but there were no mishaps until the final 15 minutes, when Aprillia's Alvaro Bautista went off at turn 15 hairpin and at the same time Cal Crutchlow went down at turn 5 on his Castrol-liveried LCR Honda.

Then positions changed in the second run as Lorenzo split the Hondas to claim second, albeit still 0.210s off Pedrosa's P1 mark. Rossi dipped into the 2m00s for the first time on his final run, but remained fourth.

Ducati's Andrea Iannone, one of the principal heroes of last week's race at Phillip Island, initially continued his role as best of the rest behind the works Yamaha/Honda quartet, but a late improvement from Scott Redding put the British rider fifth on the timing screens.

Iannone was demoted even further when Crutchlow recovered from his fall to go back out and grab sixth. That made him the last rider to be within a second of Pedrosa's time.

Hector Barbera showed good pace on his Avintia Ducati to take eighth, while the top 10 was completed by Suzuki's Aleix Espargaro and Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati).

Practice results:

1  Dani Pedrosa Repsol Honda Team Honda 2'00.412
2  Jorge Lorenzo Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.210
3  Marc Marquez Repsol Honda Team Honda 0.324
4  Valentino Rossi Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 0.503
5  Scott Redding EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 0.806
6  Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda Honda 0.823
7  Andrea Iannone Ducati Team Ducati 1.009
8  Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati 1.204
9  Aleix Espargaro Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1.329
10  Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Team Ducati 1.505
11  Danilo Petrucci Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 1.545
12  Maverick Vinales Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1.846
13  Pol Espargaro Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1.847
14  Stefan Bradl Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1.902
15  Bradley Smith Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1.911
16  Nicky Hayden Aspar MotoGP Team Honda 2.178
17  Yonny Hernandez Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 2.660
18  Jack Miller LCR Honda Honda 2.724
19  Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 2.816
20  Mike di Meglio Avintia Racing Ducati 2.982
21  Loris Baz Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 3.017
22  Eugene Laverty Aspar MotoGP Team Honda 3.526
23  Toni Elias Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 4.084
24  Anthony West AB Motoracing Honda 5.381
25  Damian Cudlin E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 7.140
Next article
“Marquez would prefer Lorenzo to win” – Rossi

Previous article

“Marquez would prefer Lorenzo to win” – Rossi

Next article

Sepang MotoGP: Lorenzo edges out Pedrosa to top FP2

Sepang MotoGP: Lorenzo edges out Pedrosa to top FP2
Load comments