Phillip Island MotoGP: Lorenzo heads Marquez and Rossi in FP1

Jorge Lorenzo topped the opening practice session at Phillip Island for the Australian MotoGP round, ahead of Honda’s Marc Marquez and points leading Yamaha teammate Valentino Rossi.

Despite a constant light drizzle coating the track from the start of the session, there was plenty of action.

The early pacesetter was Ducati’s Andrea Iannone on 1m31.498s, before Marquez took the top spot on 1m31.038s, ahead of Pol Espargaro’s Tech 3 Yamaha on 1m31.111s. Lorenzo was third at the time on 1m31.216s.

Rossi was down in P15 after his first run, 1.4s off the pace, but immediately improved on his second outing to ninth on 1m31.679s. He then rocketed to P2, behind Marquez, on 1m31.103s on his second lap.

Iannone quickly regained the top spot on 1m30.967s.

Lorenzo, who had temporarily dropped to sixth, then jumped to P1 on 1m30.673s, with Bradley Smith’s Tech 3 Yamaha going second quickest – 0.229s down.

Smith was then beaten by LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow, who went P2 on 1m30.900s, before Marquez topped everyone on 1m30.537s.

The reigning champion slightly lowered his best time to 1m30.464s, but was almost instantly beaten by Lorenzo on 1m30.282s.

Honda’s Dani Pedrosa rose to third on 1m30.669s, but Lorenzo and Marquez were holding a private party at the top of the times.

Marquez set 1m30.395s, but it was again Lorenzo – running right behind him – who topped him with 1m30.047s. That would stand as the fastest time of the session.

Pedrosa had looked set for third, ahead of Crutchlow and Rossi, but Rossi surged to third on 1m30.572s. He was 0.525s off Lorenzo’s pace, however.

Jack Miller rose to fifth with an impressive 1m30.712s, to head teammate Crutchlow.

The rain returned with a vengeance in the final five minutes, so there were no more improvements.

Crutchlow, Smith, Iannone, Pol Espargaro and Maverick Vinales (Suzuki) rounded out the top 10.

1 Jorge Lorenzo  Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:30.047 1:30.047
2 Marc Marquez  Repsol Honda Team 1:30.395 +0.348
3 Valentino Rossi  Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 1:30.572 +0.525
4 Dani Pedrosa  Repsol Honda Team 1:30.669 +0.622
5 Jack Miller  CWM LCR Honda 1:30.712 +0.665
6 Cal Crutchlow  CWM LCR Honda 1:30.782 +0.735
7 Bradley Smith  Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:30.902 +0.855
8 Andrea Iannone  Ducati Team 1:30.967 +0.920
9 Pol Espargaro  Monster Yamaha Tech 3 1:31.111 +1.064
10 Maverick Viñales  Team Suzuki ECSTAR 1:31.240 +1.193
11 Aleix Espargaro  Team Suzuki ECSTAR 1:31.260 +1.213
12 Andrea Dovizioso  Ducati Team 1:31.385 +1.338
13 Nicky Hayden  Aspar MotoGP Team 1:31.506 +1.459
14 Danilo Petrucci  Pramac Racing 1:31.670 +1.623
15 Mike di Meglio  Avintia Racing 1:31.670 +1.623
16 Hector Barbera  Avintia Racing 1:31.702 +1.655
17 Scott Redding  Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1:31.772 +1.725
18 Yonny Hernandez  Pramac Racing 1:32.121 +2.074
19 Alvaro Bautista  Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:32.173 +2.126
20 Eugene Laverty  Aspar MotoGP Team 1:32.589 +2.542
21 Loris Baz  Athinà Forward Racing 1:32.756 +2.709
22 Toni Elias  Athinà Forward Racing 1:32.959 +2.912
23 Stefan Bradl  Aprilia Racing Team Gresini 1:33.558 +3.511
24 Anthony West  AB Motoracing 1:33.790 +3.743
25  Damian Cudlin E-Motion Ioda Racing Project 1:36.091 +6.044
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP
Event Australian GP
Track Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit
Drivers Valentino Rossi , Jorge Lorenzo , Dani Pedrosa , Marc Marquez , Jack Miller
Article type Practice report