MotoGP returns to Indy with records on the line

Red Bull Indianapolis GP back for seventh time.

The eyes of the motorcycle racing world will be on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway next week as the Red Bull Indianapolis GP returns for a seventh year August 8 through 10.

The Red Bull Indianapolis GP is the 10th round of the 2014 MotoGP World Championship, the most prestigious motorcycle road racing series in the world. On the 16-turn, 2.591-mile IMS road course that incorporates a portion of the famous 2.5-mile oval, Marc Marquez will be looking to continue a run to history.

The reigning world champion from Spain, 21 years old, is halfway to the first perfect season in the modern era of MotoGP. He has won the first nine events and a win at Indianapolis would continue his run of perfection as well as tie Australian legend Mick Doohan for the most consecutive wins (10) in a season in the modern era.

Marquez could make history

Marquez won at Indianapolis in 2011 and 2012 in the Moto2 class, and once again, Moto2 and Moto3 races will be contested over the weekend. Also racing is the AMA Pro Vance & Hines Harley-Davidson Series, featuring highly skilled riders on specially modified Harley-Davidson XR1200 motorcycles.

Fans will find plenty of action off the track as well, with concerts, XDL Street Jam, Red Bull Trials stunt performances by 10-time champion Geoff Aaron, shopping and interactive fun the entire weekend on the popular Moto Midway and the Vendor Marketplace sponsored by Westfield Powersports. On Friday night, the Riders For Health Charity Auction gives fans a chance to bid on prized memorabilia. Saturday evening's Pit Walk allows fans to get an up-close look at the finely tuned million-dollar machinery of MotoGP. And after the gates close at IMS on Friday and Saturday, motorcycle enthusiasts are encouraged to attend Motorcycles on Meridian in downtown Indianapolis.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP , AMA
Event Indianapolis GP
Track Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Drivers Mick Doohan , Marc Marquez
Article type Preview