Marquez nominated for main Laureus Sports award

Double MotoGP Champion up against the world’s best for prestigious award

Reigning MotoGP Champion Marc Marquez has been nominated for the Laureus Sportsman of the Year Award with the Spaniard being named alongside some of the biggest household names in world sport.

Marquez took home the Laureus Breakthrough Award last year after setting the MotoGP world alight in the premier class in 2013 and this year in defending his title he once again broke numerous records winning the consecutive title.

With the awards ceremony set for 15th April in Shanghai, China, Marquez has been named among some illustrious company including Real Madrid soccer superstar Cristiano Ronaldo, 2014 F1 champion Lewis Hamilton, multiple major champion and current world golf number one Rory McIlroy, French pole vaulter Renaud Lavillenie and tennis world number one Novak Djokovic.

Multiple record breaker Marquez 

Marquez is the youngest ever rider to win two consecutive premier-class World Championships at the age of 21 taking the record from Mike Hailwood who was 23 when he won his second successive 500cc title in 1963.

During 2014 he became the first rider to win the opening ten premier-class GP races of the season in the premier-class since Giacomo Agostini in 1970 season and is the youngest ever rider to take ten wins in a row, again taking that record from Hailwood. Ten race wins for Marquez in 2014 is a new record for most premier-class race wins in a single season by a Spanish rider.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP
Drivers Lewis Hamilton , Giacomo Agostini , Marc Marquez , Mike Hailwood
Article type Breaking news
Tags laureus, sportsman of the year