20 Sep
22 Sep
Event finished
04 Oct
06 Oct
Event finished
18 Oct
20 Oct
Event finished
25 Oct
27 Oct
Event finished
01 Nov
03 Nov
Event finished
15 Nov
17 Nov
FP1 in
05 Hours
28 Minutes
22 Seconds

Barcelona MotoGP: Marquez wins, Lorenzo triggers pile-up

Barcelona MotoGP: Marquez wins, Lorenzo triggers pile-up
Jun 16, 2019, 12:48 PM

MotoGP championship leader Marc Marquez dominated the Catalan Grand Prix at Barcelona, after a crash for his Honda teammate Jorge Lorenzo took Andrea Dovizioso and the two factory Yamahas out of the race.

Lorenzo, who had charged from 10th on the grid to join the lead battle, fell at the sharp Turn 10 left-hander while trying to pass Maverick Vinales, taking down his compatriot, as well as Dovizioso and Valentino Rossi in the process.

Marquez overtook pole-sitter Fabio Quartararo off the line, but yielded to a fast-starting Dovizioso at Turn 1, and was soon also briefly overtaken by Vinales.

Having regained second place, the championship leader pressured Dovizioso, and snuck past the Ducati man on the second lap at Turn 10.

At that same corner, Lorenzo committed down the inside of Vinales for third place but hit the deck on corner entry.

His bike clattered into Dovizioso's rear, and the resulting crash removed both Vinales and Rossi – who had gone wide to avoid the pile-up - from the race.

The crash left Marquez on his own up front, and promoted Ducati's Danilo Petrucci to second place, the Italian unable to keep pace with the Honda man but managing to fend off both Suzuki's Alex Rins and Quartararo, who had been as low as ninth after the opening lap.

On the 10th lap, Rins launched his bike down the inside of Petrucci at Turn 1, briefly getting ahead but running wide on exit, allowing Petrucci to sweep around the outside of Turn 2.

The same sequence of events was repeated two laps later, and it was another two laps before Petrucci opened the door at the sweeping Turn 4 right-hander and allowed Rins to barge past.

But Petrucci then slipstreamed back ahead of Rins at Turn 1 on lap 17, and when the Spaniard tried another Turn 1 move next time by, he came in too hot, just avoided collecting Petrucci and nearly highsided off his GSX-RR, tumbling down the order.

Thus had unsettled Petrucci enough to allow Quartararo to get past just a few corners later with a move at Turn 4, but by that point Marquez was already more than five seconds clear.

The Honda man eased off for the final laps, taking the chequered flag 2.7s ahead of Quartararo, who celebrated his and his Petronas Yamaha team's first podium in MotoGP.

Rins recovered to fourth, passing the fading Pramac Ducati of Jack Miller on the final lap, with Miller keeping the other Suzuki of Joan Mir at bay at the line.

Pol Espargaro was the lead KTM in seventh, while his works teammate Johann Zarco rounded out the top 10, the pair split by LCR Honda's Takaaki Nakagami and Avintia Ducati's Tito Rabat.

Aprilia's Andrea Iannone, Tech 3 KTM's Miguel Oliveira and Suzuki wildcard Sylvain Guintoli completed the list of 13 finishers.

Nakagami's LCR teammate Cal Crutchlow crashed out after a failed overtaking attempt on Miller with six laps to go, falling off in the gravel at Turn 4.

Italian riders Franco Morbidelli (Petronas Yamaha) and Francesco Bagnaia (Pramac Ducati) also crashed, as did Karel Abraham (Avintia Ducati) on the opening lap – which also saw Hafizh Syahrin (Tech 3 KTM) retire.

The two Aprilias of Aleix Espargaro and tester Bradley Smith were too among the retirements, seemingly coming together in a big opening-lap crash.

Marquez leaves Barcelona with a 37-point lead over Dovizioso, with Rins and Petrucci a further two and five points behind the Ducati man respectively.

Race results

Cla # Rider Bike Laps Gap
1 93 Spain Marc Marquez Honda 24  
2 20 France Fabio Quartararo Yamaha 24 2.660
3 9 Italy Danilo Petrucci Ducati 24 4.537
4 42 Spain Alex Rins Suzuki 24 6.602
5 43 Australia Jack Miller Ducati 24 6.870
6 36 Spain Joan Mir Suzuki 24 7.040
7 44 Spain Pol Espargaro KTM 24 16.144
8 30 Japan Takaaki Nakagami Honda 24 17.969
9 53 Spain Tito Rabat Ducati 24 22.661
10 5 France Johann Zarco KTM 24 26.228
11 29 Italy Andrea Iannone Aprilia 24 32.036
12 88 Portugal Miguel Oliveira KTM 24 44.666
13 50 France Sylvain Guintoli Suzuki 24 51.363
  35 United Kingdom Cal Crutchlow Honda 18  
  21 Italy Franco Morbidelli Yamaha 16  
  63 Italy Francesco Bagnaia Ducati 5  
  55 Malaysia Hafizh Syahrin KTM 3  
  46 Italy Valentino Rossi Yamaha 2  
  4 Italy Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 2  
  12 Spain Maverick Viñales Yamaha 1  
  99 Spain Jorge Lorenzo Honda 1  
  41 Spain Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 1  
  17 Czech Republic Karel Abraham Ducati    
  38 United Kingdom Bradley Smith Aprilia    
Next article
The Barcelona MotoGP race as it happened

Previous article

The Barcelona MotoGP race as it happened

Next article

Vinales criticises Lorenzo for making "rookie mistakes"

Vinales criticises Lorenzo for making "rookie mistakes"
Load comments