Assen MotoGP: Rossi leads Yamaha 1-2 in third practice

Valentino Rossi topped Friday morning's third practice session for the Dutch TT with a late surge to the top of the timesheets ahead of Yamaha teammate Jorge Lorenzo.

After a light sprinkle of rain midway through the 45-minute session, there was a late flurry of quick laptimes in the dying stages, with Tech 3 Yamaha rider Bradley Smith being the first man to break through the Thursday benchmark set by Dani Pedrosa.

The Briton went quickest on a 1m33.387s, 0.063s faster than the Honda rider, just prior to the chequered flag, but was immediately knocked off the top spot by the factory M1 of Lorenzo, who posted a 1m33.275s.

Andrea Iannone’s Ducati took advantage of the soft rear tyre to get within 0.017s of the new benchmark, before Rossi smashed through the barrier set by his teammate with a 1m33.167s on his final flying lap.

Lorenzo had one more attempt at getting back to P1, setting overall best times in the first two sectors, but faded later in the lap and was forced to settle for second.

Iannone slotted in third ahead of teammate Andrea Dovizioso, also using a soft rear tyre, who tucked in behind Lorenzo at the very end of the session to record a 1m33.356s.

Smith’s earlier session-topping time proved only enough for fifth in the final reckoning, ahead of the two Repsol Hondas of Pedrosa, who failed to improve on his time from FP2, and Marc Marquez, who was the quickest man for much of the session before dropping down the order late on.

Maverick Vinales made use of the soft rear to set the eighth best time of the session for Suzuki, with Pol Espargaro on the second Tech 3 Yamaha and Cal Crutchlow’s LCR Honda securing the final two automatic Q2 berths in ninth and tenth.

The Pramac Ducati of Danilo Petrucci and the second works Suzuki of Aleix Espargaro will be among those riders vying for one of two Q2 spots in the first phase of qualifying.

Practice results (FP3 only):

Pos Rider Bike Time Gap
Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1'33.167  
Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1'33.275 0.108
Andrea Iannone Ducati 1'33.292 0.125
Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1'33.356 0.189
Bradley Smith Yamaha 1'33.387 0.220
Marc Marquez Honda 1'33.477 0.310
Dani Pedrosa Honda 1'33.508 0.341
Maverick Vinales Suzuki 1'33.526 0.359
Pol Espargaro Yamaha 1'33.660 0.493
10  Cal Crutchlow Honda 1'33.744 0.577
11  Danilo Petrucci Ducati 1'33.803 0.636
12  Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 1'33.954 0.787
13  Stefan Bradl Yamaha Forward 1'34.195 1.028
14  Scott Redding Honda 1'34.223 1.056
15  Hector Barbera Ducati 1'34.406 1.239
16  Yonny Hernandez Ducati 1'34.440 1.273
17  Alvaro Bautista Aprilia 1'34.668 1.501
18  Mike Di Meglio Ducati 1'35.013 1.846
19  Eugene Laverty Honda 1'35.026 1.859
20  Nicky Hayden Honda 1'35.177 2.010
21  Jack Miller Honda 1'35.420 2.253
22  Loris Baz Yamaha Forward 1'36.030 2.863
23  Alex de Angelis ART 1'36.298 3.131
24  Marco Melandri Aprilia 1'37.389 4.222
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP
Event Dutch TT
Track TT Circuit Assen
Article type Practice report