Assen MotoGP: Pedrosa sets blistering pace in second practice

Dani Pedrosa set a blistering pace in the second practice session for MotoGP's Dutch TT at Assen.

Honda teammate Marc Marquez had looked set to finish on top after having dominated the session from the start, but Pedrosa went quickest in the dying moments with a time of 1:33.450.

Marquez had gone fastest very early in the session with a lap of 1:33.589, which beat the pole position record set by Casey Stoner in 2012.

Pedrosa's best was the fastest time around the Dutch circuit, however, bettering the practice record set last year by Marquez.

Valentino Rossi, quickest in the morning, was third for Yamaha, ahead of the Ducati of Andrea Iannone and Cal Crutchlow on the LCR Honda.

Rossi's teammate Jorge Lorenzo finished down in sixth place.

With a chance of rain tomorrow, most of the field was very busy carrying out race preparation for Saturday.

Lorenzo, who switched to the new Yamaha chassis for the second session after having used the old one in the morning, set the early pace from Marquez.

It took the winner of the last four races just two laps before he bettered Rossi's best from the first session.

Iannone made his first appearance at the head of the times a minute later, the Ducati rider setting a new best of 1:34.302.

The Italian's joy was short-lived, however, with Marquez flying to first place with a stunning 1:33.589 lap.

First Rossi and then Pedrosa got closer to Marquez's time, the Italian regaining second place with seven minutes left.

But with less than two minutes left, Pedrosa shot to the top of the times with a 1:33.450.

Pos  Rider   Bike   Time   Gap   Laps 
Daniel Pedrosa Honda 1'33.450   20
Marc Marquez Honda 1'33.589 0.139 19
Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1'33.652 0.202 21
Andrea Iannone Ducati 1'33.699 0.249 19
Cal Crutchlow Honda 1'33.734 0.284 19
Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1'33.741 0.291 17
Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1'33.844 0.394 19
Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 1'33.857 0.407 18
Danilo Petrucci Ducati 1'34.133 0.683 20
10  Maverick Vinales Suzuki 1'34.232 0.782 19
11  Pol Espargaro Yamaha 1'34.321 0.871 19
12  Yonny Hernandez Ducati 1'34.406 0.956 20
13  Bradley Smith Yamaha 1'34.627 1.177 23
14  Scott Redding Honda 1'34.643 1.193 20
15  Stefan Bradl Yamaha Forward 1'34.664 1.214 20
16  Loris Baz Yamaha Forward 1'34.897 1.447 18
17  Eugene Laverty Honda 1'35.047 1.597 21
18  Nicky Hayden Honda 1'35.149 1.699 19
19  Alvaro Bautista Aprilia 1'35.489 2.039 18
20  Hector Barbera Ducati 1'35.538 2.088 20
21  Jack Miller Honda 1'35.646 2.196 19
22  Mike Di Meglio Ducati 1'35.663 2.213 17
23  Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 1'36.869 3.419 21
24  Marco Melandri Aprilia 1'37.225 3.775 17
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP
Event Dutch TT
Track TT Circuit Assen
Article type Practice report