Aragon MotoGP: Marquez obliterates track record for pole, then crashes

Marc Marquez smashed his own track record from 2014 to secure a dominant pole for the Aragon Grand Prix - only to then crash trying to lower the bar even further.

Marquez and his closest challenger Jorge Lorenzo wasted no time at the start of Q2, with the latter posting by far his best time of the weekend on his first flying lap, a 1m47.080s.

That was already a tenth below Marquez’s record from last year, before the Repsol Honda rider trounced his adversary with a spellbinding 1m46.635s – a full 0.552s better than old record.

Marquez looked like going quicker on his second run, only to fall short by 0.040s, and then lost the front of his works RC213V at Turn 2 on his third and final run.

Lorenzo, despite setting an outright best first sector, was unable to dislodge Marquez from pole, missing out on the top spot by 0.108s.

Tech 3 Yamaha’s Pol Espargaro had looked like booking a slot on the front row after moving up to P3 in the latter stages, only to be denied by Ducati rider Andrea Iannone, who came within 0.543s of Marquez’s pole time despite having again dislocated his left shoulder in the run-up to the event.

That demoted Espargaro to the head of the second row ahead of Dani Pedrosa and Valentino Rossi, who both simply had no answer to the searing pace of their respective teammates.

Aleix Espargaro was seventh on the best of the Suzukis, ahead of Cal Crutchlow’s LCR Honda and Q1 pacesetter Danilo Petrucci.

Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Yamaha) completed the top 10 ahead of Yonny Hernandez, who also came through Q1, and the second Suzuki of Maverick Vinales.

Andrea Dovizioso will start from 13th, a full 10 places behind Ducati teammate Iannone, after getting knocked out in Q1, having pulled into the pits after setting the quickest time – only for Pramac duo Hernandez and Petrucci to both beat him.

Qualifying results:

Pos. Rider Bike Time Gap
Marc Marquez Honda 1'46.635  
Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 1'46.743 0.108
Andrea Iannone Ducati 1'47.178 0.543
Pol Espargaro Yamaha 1'47.334 0.699
Dani Pedrosa Honda 1'47.357 0.722
Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1'47.492 0.857
Aleix Espargaro Suzuki 1'47.573 0.938
Cal Crutchlow Honda 1'47.574 0.939
Danilo Petrucci Ducati 1'47.775 1.140
10  Bradley Smith Yamaha 1'47.830 1.195
11  Yonny Hernandez Ducati 1'48.556 1.921
12  Maverick Vinales Suzuki 1'48.648 2.013
13  Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1'48.294 1.659
14  Scott Redding Honda 1'48.674 2.039
15  Eugene Laverty Honda 1'49.035 2.400
16  Nicky Hayden Honda 1'49.102 2.467
17  Stefan Bradl Aprilia 1'49.109 2.474
18  Mike Di Meglio Ducati 1'49.253 2.618
19  Hector Barbera Ducati 1'49.426 2.791
20  Jack Miller Honda 1'49.436 2.801
21  Alvaro Bautista Aprilia 1'49.437 2.802
22  Loris Baz Yamaha Forward 1'49.496 2.861
23  Karel Abraham Honda 1'49.761 3.126
24  Alex de Angelis ART/Aprilia 1'50.134 3.499
25  Toni Elias Yamaha Forward 1'50.755 4.120
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series MotoGP
Event Aragon GP
Track Motorland Aragon
Drivers Valentino Rossi , Jorge Lorenzo , Marc Marquez
Article type Qualifying report