Austria Moto3: Mir claims dominant seventh win of 2017

Leopard Racing's Joan Mir extended his Moto3 points lead with a comfortable seventh win of the season at the Red Bull Ring.

Austria Moto3: Mir claims dominant seventh win of 2017

Mir became the first rider since Valentino Rossi to win seven or more times in the first 11 races of the lightweight category.

Despite starting 10th after his best lap was deleted due to a track limits violation in qualifying, Mir was made his way into the lead in six laps.

Schedl GP's Phillipp Oettl came close to passing him on Lap 10 but, after Mir held the German off, he rapidly pulled away from the rest of the leading group that was battling for second until the end of the race.

Mir eventually won by 3.045s over Oettl, who held on to second after Sky VR46 rider Andrea Migno crashed at Turn 1 from that very position.

Gresini's Jorge Martin, returning from a two-race injury break, stole the final podium position from Livio Loi (Leopard) by 0.008s.

Estrella Galicia rider Aron Canet took fifth, followed by Fabio Di Giannantonio (Gresini).

Gabriel Rodrigo (ROE Racing) failed to convert his second consecutive pole position into a win, as he quickly lost ground after the start and had to settle for seventh.

Adam Norrodin (SIC Racing) claimed eighth ahead of rookie sensation Jaume Masia, who stood in for the injured Darryn Binder at Platinum Bay.

The 16-year-old impressed by fighting through the field and at one point even ran second before losing ground during the final stages.

Enea Bastianini (Estrella Galicia) completed the top 10, as Mir's main title challenger Romano Fenati had a quiet race in 12th. As a result, Mir has extended his points lead to 63 points.

Ajo KTM's Bo Bendsneyder and British Talent Team rider John McPhee suffered a dramatic crash at Turn 1 while fighting for second when the Dutchman hit the Briton.

Bendsneyder's teammate Niccolo Antonelli also retired, after a collision with Tatsuki Suzuki.

Race results:

1 36 spain Joan Mir  Honda 37'23.124
2 65 germany Philipp Ottl  KTM 3.045
3 88 spain Jorge Martin  Honda 3.377
4 11 belgium Livio Loi  Honda 3.385
5 44 spain Aron Canet  Honda 3.502
6 21 italy Fabio Di Giannantonio  Honda 3.730
7 19 spain Gabriel Rodrigo  KTM 3.804
8 7 malaysia Adam Norrodin  Honda 4.183
9 15 spain  Jaume Masia  KTM 4.310
10 33 italy Enea Bastianini  Honda 4.858
11 8 italy Nicolo Bulega  KTM 4.887
12 42 spain Marcos Ramírez  KTM 5.054
13 5 italy Romano Fenati  Honda 5.080
14 58 spain Juan Francisco Guevara  KTM 7.015
15 27 japan Kaito Toba  Honda 16.246
16 95 france Jules Danilo  Honda 16.447
17 14 italy Tony Arbolino  Honda 16.449
18 71 japan Ayumu Sasaki  Honda 16.653
19 96 italy Manuel Pagliani  Mahindra 16.673
20 84 czech_republic Jakub Kornfeil  Peugeot 17.077
21 16 italy Andrea Migno  KTM 34.984
22 6 spain Maria Herrera  KTM 43.607
23 13 austria  Maximilian Kofler  Peugeot 57.874
24 4 finland Patrik Pulkkinen  Peugeot 57.982
Ret 12 italy Marco Bezzecchi  Mahindra 1 lap
Ret  75 spain Albert Arenas  Mahindra 1 lap
Ret  41 thailand Nakarin Atiratphuvapat  Honda 1 lap
Ret  17 united_kingdom John McPhee  Honda 7 laps
Ret  64 netherlands Bo Bendsneyder  KTM 8 laps
Ret  23 italy Niccolo Antonelli  KTM 9 laps
Ret  24 japan Tatsuki Suzuki  Honda 9 laps
Ret  48 italy Lorenzo Dalla Porta  Mahindra 21 laps
Ret  18 mexico Gabriel Martínez-Abrego  KTM 21 laps
Aspar ties up with KTM for 2018 Moto3 campaign

Previous article

Aspar ties up with KTM for 2018 Moto3 campaign

Next article

Silverstone Moto3: Canet wins red-flagged race

Silverstone Moto3: Canet wins red-flagged race
Load comments

About this article

Series Moto3
Event Spielberg
Sub-event Sunday race
Location Red Bull Ring
Drivers Joan Mir
Teams Leopard Racing
Author David Gruz