Valencia Moto2: Oliveira beats Morbidelli for third straight win

Miguel Oliveira claimed his and KTM's third consecutive win in the Moto2 season finale at Valencia after a late pass on champion Franco Morbidelli.

Valencia Moto2: Oliveira beats Morbidelli for third straight win
Miguel Oliveira, Red Bull KTM Ajo
Miguel Oliveira, Red Bull KTM Ajo
Miguel Oliveira, Red Bull KTM Ajo
Fabio Quartararo, Pons HP 40
Francesco Bagnaia, Sky Racing Team VR46

The race started with a duel between Marc VDS duo Alex Marquez and Morbidelli, although the latter squandered a better start after running wide in the first two corners.

Marquez led early on from pole, but was eventually demoted by Morbidelli on Lap 3.

The Spanish rider was also passed by Italtrans man Mattia Pasini, but Marquez fought back a lap later and the Italian soon crashed out.

That promoted KTM duo Oliveira and Brad Binder into third and fourth, and the former soon starting to put pressure on Marquez for second.

It took Oliveira five laps to make a move and by the time he was up to second, Morbidelli had  built a two-second lead.

Oliveira slowly closed the gap down to one second before starting to quickly catch up with Morbidelli, and eventually took the lead with a forceful move at Turn 4 with six laps to go.

Morbidelli couldn't match Oliveira's pace afterwards, the latter crossing the line first by 2.1s.

Binder completed KTM's third consecutive double podium, as Marquez lost fourth to Francesco Bagnaia (Sky VR46) on the penultimate lap.

Hafizh Syahrin (Raceline Malaysia) was sixth, ahead of MotoGP-bound Takaaki Nakagami (Team Asia) and Fabio Quartararo (Pons).

Simone Corsi (Speed Up) passed Dominique Aegerter (Kiefer) for ninth, the latter completing the top 10.

Six riders retired from the race, including Xavi Vierge from seventh, Xavier Simeon, who will move to MotoGP next year, Jorge Navarro, Sandro Cortese, Ricky Cardus and Stefano Manzi.

Race results

1 portugal Miguel Oliveira  KTM 43'15.843 
2 italy Franco Morbidelli  Kalex 2.154
3 south_africa Brad Binder  KTM 4.181
4 italy Francesco Bagnaia  Kalex 11.181
5 spain Alex Marquez  Kalex 12.146
6 malaysia Hafizh Syahrin  Kalex 14.595
7 japan Takaaki Nakagami  Kalex 18.446
8 france Fabio Quartararo  Kalex 22.188
9 italy Simone Corsi  Speed Up 23.592
10 switzerland Dominique Aegerter  Suter 23.751
11 spain Axel Pons  Kalex 27.388
12 spain Isaac Viñales  Kalex 29.688
13 germany Marcel Schrötter  Suter 31.442
14 spain Augusto Fernandez  Speed Up 32.933
15 italy Lorenzo Baldassarri  Kalex 33.150
16 italy Andrea Locatelli  Kalex 34.335
17 brazil Eric Granado  Kalex 34.731
18 spain Iker Lecuona  Kalex 39.828
19 italy Mattia Pasini  Kalex 39.940
20 spain Edgar Pons  Kalex 42.678
21 switzerland Jesko Raffin  Kalex 43.275
22 australia Remy Gardner  Tech 3 51.990
23 italy Luca Marini  Kalex 54.931
24 united_kingdom Tarran Mackenzie  Suter 1'09.494
25 malaysia Khairul Idham Pawi  Kalex 1'10.070
26 japan Tetsuta Nagashima  Kalex 1'33.876
  spain Xavi Vierge  Tech 3 11 laps
  spain Jorge Navarro  Kalex 16 laps
  germany Sandro Cortese  Suter 19 laps
  belgium Xavier Simeon  Kalex 20 laps
  spain Ricard Cardus  Kalex 21 laps
  italy Stefano Manzi  Kalex 25 laps
Moto2 and Moto3 2018 entry lists revealed
Previous article

Moto2 and Moto3 2018 entry lists revealed

Next article

Honda tester Aoyama gets Moto2 team manager role

Honda tester Aoyama gets Moto2 team manager role
Load comments