Mugello Moto2: Pasini claims first win since 2009

Mattia Pasini emerged victorious in a three-way fight to win his home Moto2 race at Mugello and take his first grand prix victory since 2009.

Mugello Moto2: Pasini claims first win since 2009

The 31-year-old's previous win, which was in the last 250cc season before it was replaced by Moto2, was also at Mugello.

Pasini's team Italtrans celebrated its first win since Roberto Rolfo's triumph at Sepang in 2010.

Starting from third, Pasini passed both Marc VDS riders Alex Marquez and Franco Morbidelli on the opening lap to grab the lead.

Morbidelli was passed by Thomas Luthi as well and soon started to lose ground, but the leading trio remained close until the finish.

Marquez started to put pressure on Pasini on Lap 15 out of 21, and managed to make a move stick a lap later when Luthi slipstreamed past both, but ran wide at Turn 1.

However, Pasini soon fought back and led until the final lap, when Luthi again managed to pass both on the main straight.

This time the Swiss kept the position with Marquez also edging ahead of Pasini.

Yet, the latter impressively forced his way through the Spaniard in the Turn 6-7 chicane and also passed Luthi a corner later to take the chequered flag in first.

Luthi was second ahead of Marquez, as Morbidelli settled for fourth, more than three seconds adrift.

Miguel Oliveira (KTM Ajo) broke away from the second group to spend a lonely race in fifth.

Local riders Luca Marini (Forward) and Simone Corsi (Speed Up) were sixth and eighth respectively, sandwiching Dominique Aegerter (Kiefer).

Top rookie Jorge Navarro (Gresini) claimed his first top 10 finish in Moto2 in ninth ahead of Brad Binder (KTM Ajo), who returned after missing the last three rounds due to injury.

Another former Moto3 star Francesco Bagnaia lost out on a top 10 result after a last-lap crash.

Takaaki Nakagami (Honda Team Asia) and Lorenzo Baldassarri (Forward) collided on the opening lap after the latter lost control of his bike and took the Japanese rider out.

Former Moto3 champion Danny Kent, who returned to the category in a one-off outing for the Interwetten squad after leaving Kiefer at Austin, also crashed out.

Race results

1 italy Mattia Pasini  Kalex 39'30.974 
2 switzerland Thomas Luthi  Kalex 0.052
3 spain Alex Marquez  Kalex 0.136
4 italy Franco Morbidelli  Kalex 3.643
5 portugal Miguel Oliveira  KTM 5.124
6 italy Luca Marini  Kalex 13.266
7 switzerland Dominique Aegerter  Suter 13.299
8 italy Simone Corsi  Speed Up 13.703
9 spain Jorge Navarro  Kalex 15.485
10 south_africa Brad Binder  KTM 16.036
11 germany Marcel Schrötter  Suter 16.039
12 malaysia Hafizh Syahrin  Kalex 16.310
13 spain Isaac Viñales  Kalex 17.702
14 australia Remy Gardner  Tech 3 21.335
15 belgium Xavier Simeon  Kalex 22.740
16 italy Andrea Locatelli  Kalex 22.781
17 colombia Yonny Hernandez  Kalex 22.804
18 france Fabio Quartararo  Kalex 23.705
19 germany Sandro Cortese  Suter 25.336
20 spain Edgar Pons  Kalex 28.534
21 spain Axel Pons  Kalex 29.512
22 italy Francesco Bagnaia  Kalex 40.336
23 switzerland Jesko Raffin  Kalex 40.351
24 japan Tetsuta Nagashima  Kalex 40.486
25 spain Augusto Fernandez  Speed Up 45.382
26 malaysia Khairul Idham Pawi  Kalex 45.385
27 united_kingdom Tarran MacKenzie  Suter 1'07.733
28 italy Federico Fuligni  Kalex 1'07.742
  united_kingdom Danny Kent  Kalex 12 laps
  italy Stefano Manzi  Kalex 12 laps
  japan Takaaki Nakagami  Kalex  
  italy Lorenzo Baldassarri  Kalex  
Triumph's Moto2 engine supply deal announced
Previous article

Triumph's Moto2 engine supply deal announced

Next article

Mir joins Marc VDS for 2018 Moto2 season

Mir joins Marc VDS for 2018 Moto2 season
Load comments