namars: BMARA: Angell Park Badger Midget/NAMARS co-event summary 2001-08-12

Badger/Namars Midget Race ...

Badger/Namars Midget Race#3
Drake & Hines Headline Angell Park Event

SUN PRAIRIE, WI, August 12----Jay Drake scored his second feature win in three days, capturing the 25-lap Badger/NAMARS co-sanctioned Midget Feature, Sunday Night at Angell Park Speedway. Tracy Hines was victorious in the 13th annual Rich Vogler All-Star Race.

Travis Miniea jumped into the lead at the start of the feature, while Drake, and Davey Ray quickly advanced their positions on the opening lap Drake moving up two positions to second while Ray advanced past five cars to third. Drake passed Miniea for the lead on the third lap, and Ray moved into second three laps later. Miniea hit the wall on the ninth lap, bringing out the events first caution.

Drake led Ray, and Hines, on the restart as the trio pulled away from the field, Ray stayed on Drake's bumper never trailing by more than two car lengths. With seven laps remaining Drake began lapping the tail of the field, and stretched his lead. Lapped traffic worked to Drake's advantage, and he buildt up a 4.06 second lead at the finish of the event. Ray, Hines,Scott Hatton, and Dan Boorse rounded out the top five. Ray now trails Boorse by only 79 points, with three events remaining for the 2001 Championship.

The Rich Vogler All-Star Race, which features trophy dash, and feature winners at the track, was never a contest, as Hines easily outdistanced the field. Brandon Waelti, and A.J. Fike led the pack of cars behind Hines.

Teddy Beach, and Alex crimmings escaped injury in a two car flip in their heat race, and Rick Imhoff, escaped injury in a spectular flip in the B-Main, which caused damage to the second turn fence.



25-lap Feature: 1. Jay Drake  2. Davey Ray  3. Tracy Hines  4. Scott Hatton
5. Dan Boorse  6. A.J. Fike  7. Mike Hess  8. Brandon Waelti  9. Matt Westfall
10. Kevin Olson  11. Chad DeSelle  12. Boyd Calvert  13. Rick Mueller  14. Matt Estep
15. Rick LaBrosse  16. Aaron Fiscus  17. Shaine Matthews  18. Kurt Mayhew  19. Al Cole
20. Travis Miniea  21. Michael Kendall  22. Teddy Beach

15-lap "B" Main: 1. Boorse 2. Hess 3. Waelti 4. Kendall 10-lap Heat Race Winners: Mayhew, Fiscus, Hatton, Lundgreen 6-lap Trophy Dash: Ray Fast Time: Hines, 14.637 seconds

CURRENT BADGER MIDGET SERIES POINT STANDINGS: 1. Dan Boorse 1282 2. Davey Ray 1203 3. Scott Hatton 1009 4. Mike Hess 960 5. Brandon Waelti 771 6. Chad DeSelle 678 7. Kevin Olson 636 8. Aaron Fiscus 584 9. Randy Fiscus 567 10. Kevin Doty 522

CURRENT NATIONAL MIDGET DRIVER OF THE YEAR POINT STANDINGS: 1. Jay Drake 877 2. A.J. Fike 853 3. Dave Darland 806 4. Davey Ray 751 5. Aaron Fike 737 6. Scott Hatton 678 7. Dan Boorse 677 8. Matt Westfall 579 9. Kasey Kahne 547 10. Mike Hess 527


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Midget
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Dave Darland , Tracy Hines , Travis Miniea , Aaron Fike , Jay Drake , Teddy Beach , Matt Westfall , A.J. Fike , Davey Ray , Chad DeSelle , Brandon Waelti , Aaron Fiscus , Scott Hatton