Lincoln Speedway race summary 2002-07-06

Cory Haas 7th different winner in as many races in Lincoln "358" Sprints; Steve Buckwalter wins non-stop ARDC feature; Bobby Rudisill wins second of year in thundercars. ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/6/02 - Dallastown's Cory Haas padded his points lead ...

Cory Haas 7th different winner in as many races in Lincoln "358" Sprints;
Steve Buckwalter wins non-stop ARDC feature; Bobby Rudisill wins second of year in thundercars.

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 7/6/02 - Dallastown's Cory Haas padded his points lead by becoming the seventh winner in as many races in the "358" sprint division at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

Haas, who scored his first heat win of the year earlier in the evening, came from 12th starting spot to slide under race-long leader Bob Gutshall exiting turn four of lap nine, and stormed to a 3.5-second win, the second of his career in the Pigeon Hills.

Self-discipline was a key in the early going. Haas, whose top goal of 2002 is a Lincoln points title, steered his York P.B. Truss, Inc./Barb's Kitchen/Myers Tree Farm No.11C clear of a red flag at the start and three cautions before grabbing the lead just before a red flag for a flipping Joe Ilg on the backstretch of lap ten.

"We've been coming from the back a lot this year, but we've been fortunate enough to get to the front quite a few times," said a jubilant Haas in victory lane. "Tonight we started 12th, but that was about our best starting position all year."

"We had to take advantage of it. The guys were a little aggressive and I kinda got mixed up there at the beginning, but I knew I had a real good car, and just bided my time. I figured I'd let them string out and then go race."

Mike Creaghan brought out the first red flag when he rolled over a spinning Will Urkuski on the first turn of the original start. Eric Stambaugh then brought out a caution with a spin on turn two of the restart. By the time the next caution flag flew on lap five, Haas was running sixth. He passed both Greg Leiby and Mike Miller on the restart, and was scored fourth by the end of the sixth lap. Both Haas and Miller got by Jim Siegel on lap seven. Haas then used identical moves on the low side of turns three and four to grab second from Dan Dietrich on lap eight and polesitter Gutshall on lap nine.

"Those guys (the leaders) were running the middle to the top," said Haas. "I like the bottom of the track, and my car was running so good that I didn' t have to run the car that hard or take any chances. "My guys told me during the red to just hit my marks and I'd be fine. I was just letting the car hook up and wasn't really on the pedal. If I'd have seen someone, I'd have stepped it up a notch."

Miller, who was running fourth when the red came out for Ilg, put away both Dietrich and Gutshall to move into second on lap 11, but had to settle for second. Siegel, Dan Dietrich, and Gutshall swapped positions several times over the last few laps before finishing in that order third through fifth.

Rounding out the top ten were Billy Dietrich, Stambaugh (who came from the rear after the first-lap spin), Jake Raudabaugh (who started 18th after qualifying in one of the consolation events), Bill Case, Jr., and Judd Shepard.

Heats for the 42 "358" sprinters were won by Rick Horn, Dan Dietrich, Miller, and Haas. Twin consolations were won by Stambaugh and Raudabaugh.

Royersford's Steve Buckwalter established a new track record in dominating the 25-lap ARDC midget feature. The former quarter-midget driver, who has only run a handful of ARDC races, took the lead from his third starting spot exiting the second turn of the first lap. From there Buckwalter never looked back in scoring the impressive 7.64-second inaugural win over two-time defending ARDC champ and three-time 2002 winner Ray Bull.

Bull lost half a lap to Buckwalter by the time he advanced from his 11th starting spot to second on lap seven. Bryan Kobylarz was runner-up at the time, but faded as the race wore on and was credited with an 18th-place finish.

Two-time 2002 winner Marc Dailey started 12th and finished third, but not before swapping that spot with Ed Stimely, Jr. several times late in the race. Stimely was fourth, with Fred Schell crossing fifth.

Heats for the 22 ARDC Midgets were won by Kobylarz and Schell.

New Oxford's Bobby Rudisill took advantage of a David Prunkl bobble in the third and fourth turns of lap 14 to grab the lead and went on to score his second win of the year in the 20-lap thundercar feature. Rudisill, who started eighth, assumed second behind Prunkl when race-long leader Ron Shultz broke an axle on lap eight. Prunkl then paced the field until Rudisill made the race-winning pass on the 14th lap.

After taking the lead, Rudisill had to hold off a charging Bernie Beard (who started 14th) over the final four laps to claim his fourth Lincoln career win by 1.67 seconds over the points leader. Nat Tuckey got by Prunkl with three to go to finish third, with Prunkl and Butch Harvey completing the top five.

Allen Cullum was shaken up but walked away from in a spectacular 15th lap crash that saw his car roll onto its side and slam hard onto all four wheels in turns one and two, bringing out a red flag.

Heats for the 25 thundercars were won by Shultz, Duane Watson, and Tuckey.

Next Saturday night, July 13th it will be PEPSI NIGHT at Lincoln Speedway with all three point divisions on hand - the Cindy Rowe Auto Glass Super Sprints, the Budweiser 358 Sprints, and the Miller Brothers Thundercars. Gates will open at 5:30 PM, with warm-ups at 7 PM, and heats getting underway at 7:30 PM.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Midget , Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Mike Miller , Bryan Kobylarz , Marc Dailey , Ray Bull