Chili Bowl kickoff time

O'Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals -- Kickoff Time TULSA, Okla. (January 11, 2006) -- With the 20th Annual O'Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals set to fire off in just a few short hours at the Tulsa Expo Raceway, several late changes in the ...

O'Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals -- Kickoff Time

TULSA, Okla. (January 11, 2006) -- With the 20th Annual O'Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals set to fire off in just a few short hours at the Tulsa Expo Raceway, several late changes in the entry list have occurred including the announcement of a driver for the No. 67k Keith Kunz Motorsports entry.

Sprint Car standout Paul McMahan, now hailing from Nashville, TN, has been named the driver of the Kunz No. 67k, joining a stout team that includes Steve Kinser, Jay Drake, Bryan Clauson and Darren Hagen. It will mark McMahan's fourth Chili Bowl effort and first since 2003, with a sixth place run in 2001 his top Tulsa run.

Knoxville Nationals winner Kraig Kinser of Bloomington, IN, was originally tabbed for the No. 67k, but other commitments forced a change of plans.

Also, Sun Prairie, WI, racer Chad DeSelle's bid for a third consecutive Chili Bowl championship feature start has been cut short. DeSelle has returned home to be with his wife, who will be delivering a Chili Bowl baby.

Tony Elliott of Warsaw, IN, will replace DeSelle in James Fiscus' No. 6d entry, competing in tonight's Creek Nation Casino Qualifier. The Fiscus No. 9e in which Elliott was originally entered has been scratched for the weekend.

The current entry count stands at 267.

Hot laps for tonight's Creek Nation Casino Qualifier get under way at 5:00 p.m., with heat race action slated for 6:15 p.m.

The complete list of Wednesday night entries is available at

More O'Reilly Chili Bowl information:

What: 20th Annual O'Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals

Where: Tulsa Expo Raceway -- 0x00bc-mile clay oval inside the Tulsa Exposition Center at the Tulsa State Fairgrounds

When: January 11-14, 2006. Wednesday - Creek Nation Casino Qualifying Night; Thursday -- Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Qualifying Night; Friday -- Warren CAT Qualifying Night; Saturday -- Features. Hot laps on each qualifying night begin at 5:00 p.m., with racing action going green at 6:15 p.m. Saturday hot laps begin at noon, with Twin "K" Features kicking off the march through the alphabet to Saturday night's 24-car Championship "A" Feature event.

Past Winners: Sammy Swindell (1998, 1996, 1992 and 1989), Cory Kruseman (2004 and 2000), Dan Boorse (2003 and 1999), Tracy Hines (2005), Tony Stewart (2002), Jay Drake (2001), Billy Boat (1997), Donnie Beechler (1995), Andy Hillenburg (1994), Dave Blaney (1993), Lealand McSpadden (1991), Jon Heydenreich (1990), Scott Hatton (1988), Rich Vogler (1987).

New Award: A new award will be up for grabs this year, as Advantage Trucks & Salvage, Inc., of Lancaster, NY, is offering a $1,000 prize to the Best Appearing car.

Current Entries: 267 entries from 31 different states, surpassing the 2005 Chili Bowl record of 249 competitors.

Past winners entered include Tony Stewart, Sammy Swindell, Cory Kruseman, Dan Boorse, Jay Drake, Scott Hatton and defending race champion Tracy Hines.

Other top drivers already entered include Kasey Kahne, 20-time World of Outlaws champion Steve Kinser, Danny Lasoski, Dave Darland, J.J. Yeley, All-Star champion Chad Kemenah, ASCS champion Gary Wright, USAC/CRA champion Damion Gardner, ARDC Midget champion Ray Bull, USAC and Sprint Bandits TNT champion Levi Jones, USAC Midget champion Josh Wise, Kevin Swindell, Jason Leffler and Late Model aces Tim McCreadie, Bart Hartman, Rick Eckert and Jeep VanWormer.

Entries represent numerous racing disciplines, including NASCAR, winged and non-wing Sprint Cars, Midgets, Late Models and NHRA drag racing among others.

At least 31 different series or track champions are entered, with a Rookie class numbering 72 entries.

Trade Show: Always a popular attraction at the Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is the Trade Show, which is open to the public each day (Wednesday through Saturday) free of charge. All variety of racing products, apparel and more is available with well over 100 different vendors. The Trade Show covers approximately 20,000 square feet.Buffet: The cafeteria at the east end of the Tulsa Expo Center will offer an all-you-can-eat buffet each day (Wednesday through Saturday) from 12:00 noon to 6:00 p.m. for just $10 per person.Tickets: Tickets for the 20th Anniversary of the O'Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals were depleted in mid-October. Pit passes for each night of racing action are available.

O'Reilly Chili Bowl on the Net: All four nights of racing action will be webcast live at Complete information, including entry lists, updates and official results is available at

Additional information regarding the O'Reilly Chili Bowl Midget Nationals is available at or by calling 918-838-3777.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Midget
Drivers Tony Stewart , Jason Leffler , Billy Boat , Donnie Beechler , Andy Hillenburg , Rick Eckert , Danny Lasoski , Kasey Kahne , Steve Kinser , Dave Darland , J.J. Yeley , Tracy Hines , Tony Elliott , Sammy Swindell , Cory Kruseman , Jay Drake , Levi Jones , Josh Wise , Kraig Kinser , Paul McMahan , Bryan Clauson , Chad DeSelle , Ray Bull , Dave Blaney , Darren Hagen , Damion Gardner , Tim McCreadie , Scott Hatton , Chad Kemenah