ARDC Lincoln Speedway results 97-04-19

For more information: Linda Mansfield, Michael Roselli Jr. Notches First ARDC CARQUEST Midget Victory NEW OXFORD, Pa., April 19 - Seventeen-year-old rookie sensation Michael Roselli Jr. of Brodheadsville,...

For more information: Linda Mansfield,

Michael Roselli Jr. Notches First ARDC CARQUEST Midget Victory

NEW OXFORD, Pa., April 19 - Seventeen-year-old rookie sensation Michael Roselli Jr. of Brodheadsville, Pa., put it all together Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway to post his first American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) CARQUEST Midget Series feature victory.

Driving his dad's Ellis Fontana sponsored by West End Equipment and Rent-all, Jill's Hallmark, Weiland Racing Enterprises and Power Mist Racing Fuels, Roselli snared the lead from Mark Freeland of Ickesburg, Pa., on lap five and was never again headed in the 25-lap event on Lincoln's half-mile clay oval. He had a 2.27-second margin of victory over Freeland at the checkered.

Roselli thanked his entire family and the Cicconi family for their assistance in helping him obtain his first ARDC feature victory. His family has always been very supportive of his racing efforts, which started with quarter midgets, and the Cicconis were especially helpful when he advanced to full-size ARDC CARQUEST midgets.

Doug Borger of Kunkletown, Pa., led the first lap of the feature, but the action came to an abrupt halt when Duane Mausteller of Bloomsburg, Pa., did a snap roll on lap two going into the second turn. He emerged unhurt, but his car was out for the night.

Freeland got the lead from Borger on the restart and led laps two through four, but after Roselli passed him he found himself fighting hard to keep second. He lost the spot to Bob Cicconi of Prospect Park, Pa., on lap seven but got it back when Cicconi began to fade on lap 16.

Tom Fraschetta of Oaks, Pa., driving the No. 75 owned by Aston, Pa.'s Lou Cicconi Jr., finished third. Walt Stearly of Trappe, Pa., was fourth and Shannon Mausteller of Bloomsburg, Pa., rounded out the top five.

Lou Cicconi Jr., who was in the Jack Kirchner No. 81 usually driven by defending series champion Phil DiMario of Piermont, N.Y., crossed the line in fourth but was penalized two positions for jumping a restart on lap five, making him sixth. Gary Halteman of Gilbertsville, Pa., was seventh. DiMario, who is now going to concentrate on driving Ray McCabe's No. 23 in both the asphalt and dirt-track events in the ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series rather than splitting his attention between the two cars, was eighth. Randy Mausteller of Bloomsburg, Pa., and Bill Ertel of Toms River, N.J., rounded out the top 10.

Ed Stimely Jr. of McVeytown, Pa., who won the season opener April 5 at Silver Springs (Pa.) Speedway, dropped out on lap 15 with a broken driveline.

To start what turned out to be his perfect night, Roselli won the first heat. Lou Cicconi Jr. and Ed Stimely Jr. of McVeytown, Pa., were the other heat winners, while Bryan Kobylarz of Birdsboro, Pa., won the B main.

This coming weekend features a doubleheader. Next Friday night (April 25) the ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series travels to historic Williams Grove (Pa.) Speedway, while the following night the series dips below the Mason-Dixon line to appear at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway.

In May, the ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series will appear at Dixieland (N.C.) Speedway Friday night, May 16; Flemington (N.J.) Speedway on Saturday night, May 24; and the Albany-Saratoga (N.Y.) Speedway on Friday night, May 30.

The summary:

Hunt Magnetos First Heat (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. Michael Roselli Jr.; 2. Tim Dietz; 3. Shannon Mausteller; 4. Bill Ertel; 5. Tom Martocci; 6. Don Trent II; 7. Ted Schmid. No time.

Hank's Performance Products Second Heat (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. Lou Cicconi Jr.; 2. Tom Fraschetta; 3. Mark Freeland; 4. Doug Borger; 5. Bob Cicconi; 6. Fremont Dickerman; 7. Bryan Kobylarz; 8. Mike Lapp. No time.

Mechanix Wear Third Heat (10 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. Ed Stimley Jr.; 2. Duane Mausteller; 3. Randy Mausteller; 4. Walt Stearly; 5. Phil DiMario; 6. Gary Halteman; 7. Brian Suchy; 8. Dan Shelbo; 9. Ray Bull (DNS); 10. Dennis Schaeffer (DNS). No time. B Main (6 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. Bryan Kobylarz; 2. Mike Lapp; 3. Monnie Wonder III; 4. Dennis Schaeffer; 5. Brian Suchy; 6. Ted Schmid. 1:47.99

Feature (25 laps) - 1. Michael Roselli Jr.; 2. Mark Freeland; 3. Tom Fraschetta; 4. Walt Stearly; 5. Shannon Mausteller; 6. Lou Cicconi Jr.; 7. Gary Halteman; 8. Phil DiMario; 9. Randy Mausteller; 10. Bill Ertel; 11. Don Trent II; 12. Bob Cicconi; 13. Mike Lapp; 14. Dennis Schaeffer; 15. Brian Suchy; 16. Ted Schmid; 17. Tom Martocci; 18. Ed Stimley Jr.; 19. Fremont Dickerman; 20. Doug Borger; 21. Tim Dietz; 22. Monnie Wonder III; 23. Bryan Kobylarz; 24. Duane Mausteller. No time.

Feature Lap Leaders: Lap 1, Doug Borger; laps 2-4, Mark Freeland; laps 5-25, Michael Roselli Jr.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Midget
Drivers Michael Roselli , Bryan Kobylarz , Ray Bull
Teams Williams