ARDC-Lincoln results 97-08-23

For more information: Linda Mansfield, Dietz Wins ARDC CARQUEST Midget Feature At Lincoln Saturday Night NEW OXFORD, Pa., Aug. 23 - Tim Dietz of Hanover, Pa., who went out of the ballpark at Lincoln Speedway July...

For more information: Linda Mansfield,

Dietz Wins ARDC CARQUEST Midget Feature At Lincoln Saturday Night

NEW OXFORD, Pa., Aug. 23 - Tim Dietz of Hanover, Pa., who went out of the ballpark at Lincoln Speedway July 5, returned triumphant Saturday night when he won the 25-lap American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) CARQUEST Midget Series feature here. It was his second ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series victory in a row, as he also won the race at the Erie County (N.Y.) Fairgrounds Aug. 16 in his Avenger Dietz sponsored by Shack Automotive.

Another local driver, Ray Bull of New Oxford, Pa., led the first seven laps. Duane Mausteller of Bloomsburg, Pa., took command from laps eight through 11 before his car developed mechanical problems and faded. Mark Freeland of Ickesburg, Pa., vaulted ahead for one circuit of the three-eighths-mile clay oval before Dietz passed him and led the rest of the way. Dietz, who had started ninth, had a comfortable lead over Freeland's Exportise Stealth Scat V4 at the checkered.

Bryan Kobylarz of Birdsboro, Pa., finished third in Claudette Starrettt's Ellis Fontana sponsored by Coal Export Services. Point leader Ed Stimely Jr. of McVeytown, Pa., was fourth. The battle between Freeland, Kobylarz and Stimely for second place was intense, with the trio swapping positions several times.

The defending champion, Phil DiMario of Piermont, N.Y., who is second in the current point standings, rounded out the top five. Tom Martocci of Brodheadsville, Pa.; Gary Halteman of Gilbertsville, Pa.; Gary Mondschein of Stewartsville, N.J.; Bull and Lew Blair of Hatboro, Pa., rounded out the top 10.

Dietz dedicated his victory to his father, Dick, who was in attendance to see it all first-hand. The winner thanked both his parents, Dick and Peg Dietz, and his crew for their help in making the victory possible.

He also praised machinist Carroll Morris, who works with Dick Dietz on the team's Australian-made Dugan engine blocks and heads to prep them for ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series competition. The motor Dietz used Saturday night is only two races old, and it already has two victories.

The three eight-lap heats were won by Walt Stearly of Trappe, Pa.; Freeland and DiMario.

Stimely and DiMario still top the point standings in that order. Unless another event is added to the schedule, the ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series wraps up its 1997 championship season at Lincoln on Sept. 13.

A special non-point "First Feature" for non-ARDC feature winners will be held at Flemington (N.J.) Speedway on Sunday, Aug. 31. Several ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series teams are also expected to compete in a non-point race at Oswego (N.Y.) Speedway on Saturday, Aug. 30.

At the Erie County race it was suspected that Mike Lapp of Slatington, Pa., may have suffered a dislocated shoulder in an accident during the program. In reality, the shoulder is very sore but not dislocated. Lapp was in attendance at Lincoln, although he sat the action out.

The summary:

First Heat (8 laps) - 1. Walt Stearly, 2. Duane Mausteller, 3. Bryan Kobylarz, 4. Dennis Schaeffer, 5. Tom Martocci, 6. Mike Piersig, 7. Lew Blair, 8. Dave Suchy, 9. T.J. Halligan. No time.

Second Heat (8 laps) - 1. Mark Freeland, 2. Doug Borger, 3. Tim Dietz, 4. Gary Halteman, 5. Ray Bull, 6. Randy Mausteller, 7. Fremont Dickerman, 8. Dave Kelley. 2:13.60.

Third Heat (8 laps) - 1. Phil DiMario, 2. Ed Stimely Jr., 3. Donnie Trent II, 4. Gary Mondschein, 5. Scott Jackson, 6. Brian Suchy, 7. Shannon Mausteller, 8. Fred Schell. No time.

Feature (25 laps) -- 1. Tim Dietz, 2. Mark Freeland, 3. Bryan Kobylarz, 4. Ed Stimely Jr., 5. Phil DiMario, 6. Tom Martocci, 7. Gary Halteman, 8. Gary Mondschein, 9. Ray Bull, 10. Lew Blair, 11. Walt Stearly, 12. Randy Mausteller, 13. Dave Kelley, 14. Fremont Dickerman, 15. Scott Jackson, 16. Duane Mausteller, 17. Brian Suchy, 18. Mike Piersig, 19. Shannon Mausteller, 20. Donnie Trent II, 21. Dave Suchy, 22. Dennis Schaeffer, 23. Doug Borger, 24. P.J. Halligan. No time.

Feature Lap Leaders -- Laps 1-7, Ray Bull; laps 8-11, Duane Mausteller; lap 12, Mark Freeland; lap 13-25, Tim Dietz.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Midget
Drivers Scott Jackson , Bryan Kobylarz , Donnie Trent , Ray Bull