ARDC Elizabeth City results

For more information: Linda Mansfield, Borger Wins ARDC CARQUEST Feature Friday Night at Dixieland ELIZABETH CITY, N.C., May 16 - The American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) CARQUEST Midget Series made its...

For more information: Linda Mansfield,

Borger Wins ARDC CARQUEST Feature Friday Night at Dixieland

ELIZABETH CITY, N.C., May 16 - The American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) CARQUEST Midget Series made its first visit ever to Dixieland Speedway here Friday night, and Doug Borger won the 20-lap feature on the three-eighths mile, semi-banked clay oval. Borger is the fourth different winner in the series' first five races of the year.

It was the second career ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series feature victory for the driver from Kunkletown, Pa., the winner of the 1995 Jiggs Peters/Dutch Schaefer Rookie of the Year Award. His dad, Gene Borger, owns the car, which was built in the pair's D&G Chassis shop. Its Scat V4 engine is prepared by fellow ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series driver Tom Martocci of Brodheadsville, Pa.

Bryan Kobylarz of Birdsboro, Pa., led the first lap before Borger moved into the lead from his third-place starting position. He was never again headed, although the Cicconi brothers did their best to lead too.

The elder of the siblings, Bob Cicconi of Prospect Park, Pa., finished second, while Mark Freeland of Ickesburg, Pa., was third. The runner-up had started eighth, with Freeland right beside him. Kobylarz held on for fourth while young Michael Roselli Jr. of Brodheadsville, Pa., was fifth.

Lou Cicconi Jr. of Aston, Pa., threatened to take Borger's victory away in the late stages of the race. He was pressuring Borger relentlessly, and on lap 18 they came up on traffic they were trying to lap. Borger went to the outside and Cicconi took the inner path. The right front of Cicconi's Stealth Brayton clipped one of the cars they were attempting to lap and sprawled through turns three and four, straightening out only to stall while running second and bringing out the second and final yellow. He restarted in the rear but regrouped to finish 11th in the remaining two laps.

Borger's victory was especially sweet because his winning night started with problems in his heat, in which he could finish no better than sixth. The team made the right changes between qualifying and the feature, however, and Borger's bright yellow midget was flying in the main event.

Phil DiMario won the first heat while Lou Cicconi Jr. won the second one.

Two hard chargers would have preferred to start the night over after their midgets developed mechanical problems later. DiMario, the defending ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series champion, was on both ends of the scale with a heat-race victory and a last-place finish in the feature. Ed Stimely Jr. of McVeytown, Pa., last year's Rookie of the Year, had motor problems and stalled in turn two to cause the feature's first yellow on lap six, and ended up next-to-last in the overall feature rundown. He hopes to do better next time for his new sponsor, Robert Sowden, a Pennsylvania-based investment advisor whose business is called Primevest.

The next ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series races will be held Saturday night, May 24 at Flemington (N.J.) Speedway and Friday night, May 30 at Albany-Saratoga (N.Y.) Speedway. In June the series will appear at Southampton (Va.) Speedway on Friday, June 13; Langley (Va.) Raceway on Saturday, June 14; Flemington (N.J.) Speedway on Saturday, June 21; and Jennerstown (Pa.) Speedway on Saturday, June 28.

The summary:

First Heat (8 laps) - 1. Phil DiMario, 2. Bob Cicconi, 3. Ed Stimely Jr., 4. Duane Mausteller, 5. Don Trent II, 6. Gary Halteman, 7. Tom Martocci, 8. Brian Suchy, 9. Fremont Dickerman. 2:31.45

Second Heat (8 laps) - 1. Lou Cicconi Jr., 2. Bryan Kobylarz, 3. Michael Roselli Jr., 4. Walt Stearly, 5. Mark Freeland, 6. Doug Borger, 7. Randy Mausteller, 8. Fred Schell, 9. Bill Ertel. No time.

Feature (20 laps) - 1. Doug Borger, 2. Bob Cicconi, 3. Mark Freeland, 4. Bryan Kobylarz, 5. Michael Roselli Jr., 6. Gary Halteman, 7. Walt Stearly, 8. Duane Mausteller, 9. Tom Martocci, 10. Don Trent II, 11. Lou Cicconi Jr., 12. Fred Schell, 13. Bill Ertel, 14. Randy Mausteller, 15. Brian Suchy, 16. Fremont Dickerman, 17. Ed Stimely Jr., 18. Phil DiMario. No time. Lap Leaders - Lap 1, Bryan Kobylarz; lap 2-20, Doug Borger.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Midget
Drivers Michael Roselli , Bryan Kobylarz