Stimely and the Yetters Honored at ARDC CARQUEST Banquet HAZLETON, Pa., Nov. 29 - "Memories of the sixties and seventies" was the theme of the 58th annual American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) CARQUEST Midget Series banquet Saturday night at the...

Stimely and the Yetters Honored at ARDC CARQUEST Banquet

HAZLETON, Pa., Nov. 29 - "Memories of the sixties and seventies" was the theme of the 58th annual American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) CARQUEST Midget Series banquet Saturday night at the Lobitz Catering Hall here. The night's biggest star, driver champion Ed Stimely Jr. of McVeytown, Pa., was just a youngster in those decades, but he quickly got into the swing of things as he was honored for his historic accomplishment of winning the ARDC CARQUEST Midget Series drivers' title the year after he won the series' Rookie of the Year award.

The owners of the Creek Gaerte that Stimely drove to the championship shared the limelight, as Harold and Ruthann Yetter of Scotia, Pa., earned the car owners' title. Stimely and the Yetters thanked their crew members, including crew chief Bob Baker, Scott Pace, Bob Hackenberry, Ed Stimely Sr. and Pam Stimely, as well as their sponsors, Cabinet Connection, Robert Sowden PrimeVest Financial Services, Pennzoil and the Main Street Bar.

Baker, who lives in Reedsville, Pa., received an award too. The championship-winning crew chief and Leroy Bossler of Birdsboro, Pa., the chief mechanic of Bryan Kobylarz's car, were the co-recipients of the Ken Hickey Mechanic of the Year Award.

The top 20 car owners and drivers shared a $7,000 point fund and $5,000 in contingencies.

Tom Martocci of Brodheadsville, Pa., was the Most Improved Driver, jumping from 17th in points in 1996 to eighth in 1997. Don Trent II of Honeybrook, Pa., received the Ed "Dutch" Schaefer/Jiggs Peters Memorial Rookie of the Year Award.

Gary and David Halteman and 1997 ARDC President Randy Mausteller gave the Galen Halteman Memorial President's Award to two recipients: Ron Heddendorf of Philadelphia and Mike Roselli Sr. of Brodheadsville, Pa. Heddendorf, the club's statistician, registrar, historian and newsletter editor, is the only two-time winner of this award. Roselli is the club's business manager and booking agent.

Becky Martin of the Checkered Flag Fan Club gave that group's service appreciation award to Krissy Lauer of Millersville, Md., a scorer for the club and the banquet chairperson.

Walt Stearly received the Hungry Driver Award from Schaeffer's Family Restaurant of Boyertown, Pa. The press also chose him as "best dressed" for the colorful sport jacket he wore to the banquet, which was subsequently borrowed by both newly-elected ARDC President Ray McCabe and defending champion Phil DiMario.

Special guests included June Schaeffer of Hoosier Racing Tires, the club's spec tire manufacturer; Bob Marlow and Bill Shand of National Speed Sport News; Earl Krause of Area Auto Racing News; and photographers Bill Schwoyer and Dave Giles. Others recognized were the "First Lady of ARDC," Rose Schindler; Ed Bauman of the National Old Timers Club; Brad Gray and Bill St. George of the Atlantic Coast Old Timers; former ARDC champions Nick Fornoro Jr. and Sr.; top mechanic Richie Brannan; past president Carl McIlroy; and Mike and Bob Tideback from the American Three-Quarter Midget Racing Assn. (ATQMRA).

The Yetters gave appreciation awards to Stimely and Baker, while ARDC treasurer Doug Starrett did the same to Heddendorf; accountant Barbara Hellyer and secretary Deanna Kobylarz.

Caterer and midget booster Stan Lobitz presented $100 donated by Fred Bruchner to the 14th-place driver, Gary Mondschein.

The top 20 in points were:


1. Ed Stimely Jr., 2. Phil DiMario; 3. Bryan Kobylarz, 4. Gary Halteman; 5. Mike Roselli Jr.; 6. Mark Freeland; 7. Tim Dietz; 8. Tom Martocci; 9. Bob Cicconi; 10. Doug Borger; 11. Shannon Mausteller; 12. Randy Mausteller; 13. Fred Schell; 14. Gary Mondschein; 15. Walt Stearly; 16. Duane Mausteller; 17. Lou Cicconi Jr.; 18. Don Trent II; 19. Rudy Boetticher Jr.; 20. Lew Blair.


1. Harold and Ruthann Yetter; 2. Ray McCabe, 3. Mike Roselli Sr.; 4. Claudette Starrett; 5. David Halteman; 6. Roger McKeehan; 7. Walt Stearly; 8. Tim Dietz; 9. Larry Martocci; 10. Shannon Mausteller; 11. Gene Borger; 12. Randy Mausteller; 13. Tom Fraschetta; 14. Fred Schell; 15. Duane Mausteller; 16. C. Douglas Starrett; 17. Gary Mondschein; 18. Don Trent II; 19. Bob Cicconi; 20. Rudy Boetticher Sr.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Midget
Drivers Bob Baker , Bryan Kobylarz