‘Race to 24’ programme to select Team SARD-Morand Morgan driver

Team SARD-Morand is in the process of selecting their final drivers for Le Mans.

One of the two remaining seats in the Team SARD-Morand Morgan entry at Le Mans will be selected from an initiative known as ‘Race to 24’.

Two dozen drivers from seventeen countries are on the list, which shows drivers with varying levels of experience who are set to compete in a reality TV style programme for one of the coveted LMP2 seats at Le Mans.

Drivers in the running

At one end of the scale are well known endurance racing drivers such as Christopher Haase and Jonathan Summerton, while at the other are relative unknowns such as Raed Rachamalla from Bahrain and Austria’s Laura Kraihamer (sister of Rebellion Racing driver, Dominik). It is unclear how the eclectic list of drivers was initially assembled.

Many Internationally recognised single-seater drivers also have a chance to make their Le Mans debut this season. GP2 and Indy 500 driver -  Conor Daly could follow in his father- Derek’s footsteps and race at La Sarthe in June. Daly Snr last competed at La Sarthe in 1990 in a Don Devendorf entered Nissan R90CK.

Another son of a well-known former Le Mans 24 Hours driver is Jules Gounon - son of former works Mercedes driver, Jean-Marc -  who has forged a very bright reputation in karting and Formula Renault over the last few seasons.

Making it three American’s on the list is Brandon Newey, son of Brian Herta Autosport’s co-owner – Steve Newey.

Three women racers

Three women racers also have the chance to be part of the SARD-Morand program with the aforementioned Laura Kraihamer being joined by Vicky Piria and Inès Taittinger.

The Race to 24 project will see 12-part online series screened over the next 12 weeks. Fans will be encouraged to interact with team manager Benoit Morand in choosing the successful candidate.

Click HERE to watch the promotional video. Warning: This video contains images of a semi naked Christian Klien doing yoga, which some viewers may find distressing!

Race to 24 full driver list

Name Nationality Resume
Advait Deodhar India

Finished 24th 2014–15 MRF Challenge Formula 2000 Championship

Armando Parente Portugual 2008 ADAC Formula BMW champion
Brandon Newey USA 17th in 2014 Pro Mazda Championship
Christopher Haase Germany 2009 FIA GT3 European Champion, Winner of 2014 Nurburgring 24 Hours
Conor Daly USA 2010 Star Mazda Champion, 3rd in 2013 GP3 Series
Dino Zamparelli England 7th in 2014 GP3 Series
Esteban Guerrieri Argentina 3rd in 2010 Formula Renault 3.5 series; 2nd in 2011/12 Indy Lights Series
Fabien Thuner Switzerland 5th in 2012 Eurocup Renault Megane Trophy
Gustavo Lima Brazil 14th in 2014 BRDC Formula 4 Championship
Inès Taittinger France 3rd in 2013 Aragon 12 Hours
Jonathan Summerton USA 2nd in 2009 Formula Atlantic Championship
Jules Gounon France

2nd in 2013 French F4 Championship

Laura Kraihamer Austria 12th 2012 KTM X-Bow Series
Lukas Moraes Brazil 2nd in Brazilian F3 Open Series
Martin Chao  China 2014 British F3 Champion
Marvin Dienst Germany 4th in 2014 ADAC Formel Masters
Max Snegirev Russia 13th in 2012 Auto GP World Series
Mitchell Gilbert  Australia 23rd in 2013 FIA European F3 Championship
Raed Rachamalla Bahrain Unknown
Sam Brabham England 2nd in 2013 British Formula Ford Championship
Shinya Michimi Japan 8th in 2014 Auto GP Series
Stefan Rzadinski Canada  Indy Lights and Tagliani Autosport NASCAR Canada Driver
Vicky Piria Italy 10th in 2013 European F3 Open


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Le Mans
Drivers Christian Klien , Jonathan Summerton , Esteban Guerrieri , Conor Daly , Armando Parente , Max Snegirev , Christopher Haase , Dino Zamparelli , Brian Herta , Vicky Piria , Gustavo Lima , Sam Brabham , Laura Kraihamer
Article type Breaking news